STREET JOURNAL 14

Standard

by Tom H. Brooks 3

WHEN YOU THINK YOU KNOW EVERYTHING

IT IS CERTAIN THAT YOU KNOW NOTHING…
_______
 
WHATEVER
_______
 
Some days, everything seems tinged with menace…
_______
 
“I don`t know where I am at this moment, I don`t know where this realm of 
Heaven comes from, I look all around.  I don`t know that I don`t understand
anything and still think I know everything.  Things just happen behind me
and there is always a mysterious eye, so it is best for me just to pretend that
I understand even if I don`t.  While pretending to understand, I still don`t
understand.  The fact of the matter is I comprehend nothing.  This is how it is.”
 
Gao Xingjian
“Soul Mountain”
 
^This is how I feel when I wake up in the morning after a night of drinking^
at Yucca Estates (every night).  Except for the part about Heaven…
_______
 
I just saw a ship called Sugar Island.  HA!  I want to go there…
_______
 
So now, in the face of all the madness, I spent the night out with a hot
Filipina babe and her sexy stripper friend…..yessuh
The funny thing is that I was wearing my ghetto bedroom slippers…
(you know, those black corduroy things the chollos wear…)
_______
 
“If on a winter`s night, a traveler outside the town of Malbork leaning from the 
steep slope without fear of wind or vertigo, looks down in the gathering shadow
in a network of lines that enlace in a network of lines that intersect on the 
carpet of leaves illuminated by the moon around an empty grave…what story
down there awaits its end?”
 
Italo Calvino
________
 
I am telling the first impressions I noted, which are the ones that count.
 
Italo Calvino
________
 
A yellow full moon rising in the east in a lavender-purple sky…
________
 
“Gimme shelter, or I`m gonna fade away…”
 
Jagger, Richards
________
 
The shadows of plants, a bong and a 40oz silhouetted vividly and wavering
on every wall in the bright lights of Hollywood and Vine…
________
 
SOMETIMES PEOPLE AROUND HERE ARE ALL
TALKING AT ONCE 
AND I CAN`T HEAR ANYTHING BUT THE MUSIC.
 
Or, perhaps, I don`t WANT to….
________
 
“It hurts to set you free, but you`ll never follow me…”
 
Jim Morrison
________
 
“JOIN THE ARMY:
TRAVEL TO EXOTIC, DISTANT LANDS
MEET DIFFERENT PEOPLE FROM AROUND THE WORLD
–AND KILL THEM”
________
 
This one`s for you, BIG DUMMY…
 
Oftentimes, when you make a STUPID comment or a feeble attempt
at an insult, a sarcastic jab, or anything even closely resembling a 
sharp wit, I don`t respond.  I say nothing.  The reason for this is 
simple; there is no need for me to say anything.  If I allow you to
keep talking, you will surely do a fine job of looking like an idiot
and making an ass of yourself on your own.  You DON`T need my help…
________
 
Stay in your own world, baby…
________
 
“you ain`t no MC…”
________
 
You know what a bum just told me on Hollywood Blvd?
…and I quote, “One day a while back I beat Ray Liotta`s ass!”
________
 
THE DOCTOR IS IN
________
 
LAUGHING MYSELF TO DEATH
________
 
bohemian thunderfuck
________
 
SAUCY BALLER
________
 
HAVE YOUR PEOPLE
CALL MY PEOPLE….
WE`LL DO LUNCH
________
 
I never realized that living across the street 
from a 7-11 would make us all raging alcoholics…..
5 trips a day…..OR MORE!!
________
 
`It`s not how you stand by your knives;
it`s how you throw your knives; you better learn that….”
 
Our crazy paraphrase of a line from “Fast and Furious”
________
 
THE BOOK OF FUNNY GIBBERISH
________
 
From The Los Angeles Times…
“Painkiller Prescriptions Highest in Eastern Kentucky, Study Says”
HA!  Well, no shit!  What else is there but pain?!?  Of course, that
study never included THIS building!
________
 
HI, I`M STUPID AND EVERYTHING I`VE LEARNED, 
I LEARNED FROM TELEVISION AND COMIC BOOKS.
NOW, I`M PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES.
________
 
“It`s so very lonely,
You`re 2000 light years from home…”
 
The Rolling Stones
________
 
“Can`t sleep, gonna die,
can`t sleep, gonna die,
can`t sleep, gonna die…”
 
Homer Simpson
________
 
“My style boils down to this; first of all, I never put more meaning in a sentence
than is absolutely necessary.  Second, the sentences have to have rhythm.  This
is something I learned from music, especially jazz.  In jazz, great rhythm is what 
makes improvising possible.  It`s all in the footwork.  To maintain that rhythm, there
must be no extra weight.  This doesn`t mean no weight at all–just no weight that
isn`t absolutely necessary.  You have to cut out the fat.
 
Haruki Murakami
________
 
“Go fuck yourself.”
 
Blake St.John
His favorite line (and he repeats it all too often…)
________
 
CUT OUT THE FAT
________
 
Get out of here, Blake.
________
 
THE ELEMENT OF SURPRISE
IS WHAT
MAKES LIFE WORTH LIVING.
________
 
A world of magnified sounds and heightened meaning
laced with hyperawareness.  Welcome to my mind….
________
 
“Tall and tan and young and lovely,
the girl from Ipanema goes walking,
When she walks, it`s like a Samba
that swings so cool and sways so gently…”
________
 
“I know the pieces fit
`cause I watched them fall away…”
 
TOOL
________
 
“On any given day, something claims our attention, grabs our hearts.  Anything
at all, inconsequential things, a rosebud, a misplaced hat, the sweater we liked
as a child, an old Gene Pitney record.  A parade of trivia with no place to go.
Things that go bump around in our consciousness for 2 or 3 days then go back
to wherever they came from…darkness.  We`ve got these wells dug in our hearts,
while above the wells, birds flit back and forth.”
 
Murakami
“Pinball”
________
 
“Most of my stories start from their titles.  A phrase spontaneously brings an
image to mind and I pursue that image in writing without knowing where it will
lead me.”
 
“I feel that writing fiction is very close to the sense of going to the land of the dead.”
 
Murakami
________
 
YEAH, GREAT.
I`M ABOUT AS ENTHUSED AS AN
OLD MAN GOING TO THE FUNERAL
PARLOR TO PICK OUT HIS OWN COFFIN…
________
 
“I don`t know how to put it, but it seems to me no matter how far we go–or rather,
the farther we go–the things we discover are more likely to be nothing more than
ourselves.  All things are a part of me, within me, that have always been there
(in the wells) I suspect: They have been waiting all this time for me to find them.”
 
Murakami
________
 
” `Do you believe in reincarnation?`
`I`ll think about it when I`m dead.` “
________
 
RHYTHM OF THE EARTH
________
________
 
“If you lose your ego, you lose the thread of that narrative you call your self.  Humans
can`t live very long without some sense of a continuing story.  They are crucial keys
to sharing time–experience with others.  A narrative is a story, not logic, nor ethics, nor
philosophy.  It is a dream you keep having whether you realize it or not.  Just as surely
as you breathe, you go on ceaselessly dreaming your story.  And in these stories you
wear two faces.  You are simultaneously both subject and object.  You are the whole
and you are a part.  You are real and you are a shadow.  Storyteller, and at the same
time, character.  It is through such a multilayering of roles in our stories that we heal
the loneliness of being an isolated individual in the world.
Yet, without a proper ego, nobody can create a personal narrative, any more than you
can drive a car without an engine, or cast a shadow without a real physical object.”
 
Haruki Murakami
________
________
 
Good titles by Raymond Carver
“Where I`m Calling From”
“So Much Water So Close to Home”
“A New Path to the Waterfall”
 
“Late Fragment
 
And did you get what
you wanted from this life, even so?
I did.
And what did you want?
To call myself beloved, to feel myself
beloved on the earth.”
 
Inscribed on Raymond Carver`s tombstone…
________
 
“Well, I`m still missing my other half,
Oh, must be something I did in the past,
don`t it just make you wanna laugh?
It`s a lonely Saturday night…
Nobody calls me on the telephone
I put another record on my stereo
but I`m still singing a song of you
It`s a lonely Saturday night…”
 
Lou Reed 
“Goodnight Ladies”
________
 
“Free your mind and your ass will follow…”
________
 
I just saw Elvis talking to Satan in front of the Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Blvd.
________
 
“I don`t know where I`m going
but I`m gonna try for the Kingdom 
if I can…”
 
Lou Reed 
“Heroin”
________
 
There`s nothing as beautiful and erotic as sexy young ladies frolicking and splashing
about at the ocean`s edge on a summery day with seabirds flitting about in the background.
Truly, a timeless scene from the dawn of time….
________
 
Driving a borrowed car over the Palos Verdes Peninsula listening to Bob Marley and the Wailers,
“Rock Steady” and smiling; I`m thanking the universe for my life and being me.  My only lament
is all this fucking construction where Marineland used to be.  It makes me so mad.  I want to burn
it all so nature can take over again.  Nature always wins in the end.
________
 
“I`ll play your favorite song, darling
we can rock it all night long
cause I`ve got to love, darling
love sweet love
 
Mellow mood has got me
so let the music rock you
light up the night
please turn up your light
 
Strike the hammer
while the iron is hot….”
 
Bob Marley
________
 
EXPECT NOTHING
GET A LOT
________
 
“I wish there was a club called “FUNTIME” `cause I`d spend all my money there.”
 
David Bateman
 
It was actually really funny when we were jacked up and drunk…
________
 
“I`M GONNA NEED TO HEAR SOME
MORE COWBELL”
________
 
Stupid bumpersticker;
“The one who dies with the most toys wins”
 
Funny hippie bumpersticker
“The one who dies with the most toys
is still dead.
________
 
“A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius”
 
Dave Eggers
________
 
The title alone was enough to make me read it.
________
 
“Mistakes We Knew We Were Making”
 
Eggers
________
 
THIS WAS
TOTALLY
UNCALLED 
FOR
_________
 
“I am afraid
because of the foolishness
I have spoken…
I must diet
on silence;
strengthen myself
with quiet.”
 
“Not because of victories
I sing,
having none,
but for the common sunshine,
the breeze,
the largeness of spring…”
 
Charles Reznikoff
________
 
“Having lived through the whole electronic revolution, I know that much of what I`ve seen
is not progress but folie de grandeur.  It is misleading, creating the illusion of knowledge,
which is in fact a profound ignorance.  We have confused information (of which there is too much)
with ideas (of which there are too few).  I found out much more about the world and myself by 
being unconnected.”
 
Paul Theroux
________
 
“Existence is beyond the power of words to define.”
 
Lao Tzu
________
 
Walking on a bridge over the LA River in the sunny heat and looking at Downtown skyscrapers
rising into the smog…..a guy just drove by and actually called me “Whitey!”  I just started
laughing my ass off.  What a fucking idiot.  But he is right.  I am white.  OOOOO you got ME, pal.
________
 
BE 
HERE 
NOW
________
 
Nostradamus said all this would happen….
________
 
February 1st, 2003   Year of the Ram  (is it sheep or ram?….whatever….)
Chinese New Year ….Solo Mission to Chinatown.  Live Music, spray painted walls,
fireworks, DJs, all sorts of cultural events, FIREWORKS, drums, dragons, colored
smoke, noise, a total street party by Hop Louie`s and HOT FUCKING GIRLS everywhere…
yes, my friends, another successful street mission by the master urban explorer.
I couldn`t be happier.  Now, if you`ll excuse me, I`m gonna go buy a Chinese/English
dictionary…..
________
 
“BABY, YOU WANT IT, YOU GOT IT…”
 
DMX
________
 
BIG ruckus at the 7th Street Metro station….cops and gang members, shouting, clubs, arrests….
________
 
I am very sorry for those who died on the Columbia space shuttle, BUT, at this juncture in history,
I have to be somewhat suspicious of WHY it blew up and IF it was really an accident.  It sure seems
like the PERFECT distraction from the “war” in Iraq.
________
 
A funny t-shirt I saw on a heavy metal hesher on Hollywood Blvd…
 
“DON`T PISS ME OFF!
I`m running out of places
   to put the bodies”
________
 
No matter how poor I am, I`ve always enjoyed tossing my pennies and nickels
away as a sign of my complete and total lack of obedience or concern for God-Money.
And I always will….
________
 
THIS BOOK HAS ENDED
 
THB3
 
 
Leave a Reply

