STREET JOURNAL 16

Standard

by Tom H. Brooks 3

IT`S NOT HOW YOU STAND BY YOUR BOMBS,

IT`S HOW YOU DROP YOUR BOMBS…YOU BETTER LEARN THAT…
________
How well do we ever really KNOW anybody?
________
answer: NOT THAT WELL
________
There is a part of all of us:
isolated
alone
indecipherable–
even to ourselves–
so how can we expect others to comprehend?
________
There is nothing like being ME.
________
As I sit here peacefully, alone above the sea, I am forced to wonder what evil
plots are being hatched at this moment around the globe.  What evil men who
live in darkness are planning death and destruction for other humans under the
guise of religion, politics, tribal or ethnic differences?  Is there no end?  Do we
ever learn?  The cry of a lone raven is my only answer.
And the raven says LISTEN
And the raven says LEARN
And the raven says LIVE
And the raven says FLY
________
Somewhere is out there, waiting for me to fight my way through everything in order
to get there and know that everything here is behind us and everything there is
present and future and that there is nowhere like the somewhere we dream of
when we are in a place we really don`t want to be but have to be because that is
the nature of things and who are we to change it?  So we just do our best to flow
with the river that comes from somewhere and goes over there to the other place,
wherever the hell that is….
________
I walked through a big group of children spread across the beach outside Cabrillo
Museum and there was one little blonde boy alone, lying off to the side in the cool
grass under the shade of a tree, gazing up at the sky…..and for a moment, I realized
that it was ME, once upon a time and many years ago…
________
“Did you have a good world when you died?
Enough to base a movie on?”
Jim Morrison
________
I am just so happy to be wandering alone on a sunny day at this moment that I have
to stop in a bright springtime glade amidst the trees and flowers and just sit,
smiling like an idiot.
________
“The highest wisdom is to have no fear.”
Friedrich Nietzsche
________
“The ultimate value of our lives is decided not by how we win but by how we lose.”
Ernest Hemingway
________
African Sleeping Sickness;
I`ve had 3  13-hour sleeps in a row.
I just can`t seem to find anything I like better than sleeping in my nice, cozy bed…
________
“A man can make a penny being a writer, but if he wants to be a millionaire,
he can START A RELIGION.”
L. Ron Hubbard (Scientology)…..yeah, we can trust THESE guys.
Everything Tom Cruise says is true.
________
“I establish clauses indefinitely sad.”
Pablo Neruda
________
“I am sure that no law made by man is sacred before the impulse of passion.
There is no law before impulse.”
________
Art at the end of days….
________
“Those who restrain desire do so because
theirs is weak enough to be restrained.”
William Blake
________
“The Messiah will only come when He is no longer needed.”
Franz Kafka
________
“The killing of one human being is the equivalent of killing all of humanity.”
The Koran
IN YOUR FACE, FANATICS!
________
Message in a bottle that I threw in the sea….
SOMEBODY HELP ME…
I`M STILL A FUCKING IDIOT.
________
Taking notice and pleasure in the smallest details; every rock by the seashore,
every piece of driftwood, carved and smoothed by the millennia….
________
The music of the ocean
quietly
sings to me alone
actually
it`s there for everybody
It`s not the ocean`s fault
that nobody`s listening
So I sit here alone
watching the world
I see the meaning
in sunlit seaspray
I see worlds
in every plant
every flower
every rock
endless colors
borne of the earth
and the heavens
intertwined
in unfathomable mystery,
Everything
flowing together…
waterfalls
whispers
words
lost on the wind…
Nobody`s listening,
it doesn`t matter…
_____________
swallow your insanity like morning vitamins…
there is nothing like facing your day with only
craziness on your mind.  It is liberating.  My
medicine is humor and chaos.  Embrace the
joke.  There is so much to see and do and so
little time.  This is the truth.  My attention span
is minimal.  There is only more, MORE, MORE…
And then, there is tomorrow…
__________
“Today was a good day,
didn`t even have to use my AK….”
Ice Cube
_________
I came back from a Chinatown excursion and when I got back to
Hollywood and Vine, who do I see?  Tim Curry of “Rocky Horror
Picture Show.”
HA!  “I`m just a sweet transvestite…”
_________
Yucca Estates…I`m just waiting for these monkeys
to sedate themselves enough so I can get some sleep!
_________
“DAMN THOSE DIRTY APES!!”
_________
“ethnic cleansing” is the STUPIDEST of human terms…
________
“Run With the Hunted”
________
“There is far too great a disproportion between what one is and what others think one is,
or at least what they say they think one is.  But one has to take it all with good humor.”
Albert Einstein
________
Irrational anger is funny.
________
“One should not be driven along by a momentum other than one`s own;
One should create, and not be created.”
________
The winds of war are blowing strong….
Funny that Bush should pick a drunken holiday such as St. Patrick`s Day to declare
war on Iraq.  You know what I mean; when everyone`s drunk, no one is paying attention….
We can all wake up tomorrow and say,” What?!  We`re in ANOTHER war?!”
________
POPE MOVES INTO A BOMB SHELTER
________
“You`ll see it when you believe it.”
________
“Just because you ARE a character, doesn`t mean you HAVE character.”
Mister Wolf
“Pulp Fiction”
________
3/19/03
The day the USA drops thousands of bombs on Iraq yet NO ONE wanted it.  It was the
only topic of conversation all day and we could watch Baghdad burning on TV like a
goddamned video game.
________
“BEAM ME UP SCOTTY,
THERE`S NO INTELLIGENT LIFE HERE”
________
It`s better to regret what you HAVE done
than what you HAVEN`T done…
________
OR IS IT?
________
SPUN
________
“I`ve found it easier in life to ask for forgiveness rather than permission.”
________
“I`M IN YOUR FACE”
________
Yes, I like happy ending…
________
“And so it is written; as long as man hopes,
he will go on turning out hopeful finales…”
Gunter Grass
________
“Whom the gods destroy, they first make mad.”
Euripides
________
“The price of freedom is eternal vigilance.”
The price of freedom is to be the one to drop the bombs FIRST.
________
“The sole cause of man`s unhappiness is that he does not know
how to stay quietly in his room.”
Pascal
________
3/22/03
All I wanted to do was go home…
The streets were CHAOS today, with the Academy Awards and another HUGE protest.  I got
thrown against a wall and searched by at least 10 bike cops and riot police and all I was trying
to do was cross the street to get back to my apartment.  I didn`t even GO to the fucking protest,
I told them but, of course, they were a bunch of assholes all jacked up on donuts and coffee
and power.  I told them I was working and my house is up the street that you guys have blocked
off for some reason!  I finally got away from the pigs, got home; the phone was broken, the house
stinks and is full of roaches.  My goddamned dopey roommate has all the windows closed even
though it is 80 degrees outside and even hotter inside.  Shit.  Today sucked.  I smoke a bowl
and crack a beer (the sound of angels falling from heaven) and flip on the TV to watch some
of this war that is presented as if it is a football game where only one team is scoring all the
points.  They even have fancy logos and shit!  I`m just trying to cope.  I`m just trying to get
a little slice of the pie, or something good for myself, while there`s still time.  I weep for us all.
Lately, every day that I`m off work, the weather has been shitty.  When I go to work, it is
beautiful.  I am turning into a nihilist.  We are all stupid and I don`t care if we all blow ourselves
up.  It would be nothing less than we deserve for letting it all come to this.  Stupid fucking
war-monkeys.  See you in hell.
________
“How do you keep in idiot in suspense?”
I`ll tell you tomorrow…
________
So, I was walking downtown when I passed an armored truck.  The guy came out of the bank
with so much cash that he had a dolly cart to move it all.  He was flanked by two bulletproof-jacketed,
gun-bearing drones with beady roving eyes.  I had a rolled-up newspaper, possibly containing a weapon
and I guess I looked suspicious because those guys were watching me like hawks.  I really thought
they were gonna shoot me for a minute.  I feel like this has happened before, like maybe this is the
second time this has happened to me……I gotta stay away from armored trucks….
_______
The reason I point out the following sad story is to show how incredibly insane IRONY permeates
our lives (and deaths) at every turn….
A 1st time novelist named Amanda Davis was on her way to a bookstore to promote her first book
when, tragically, her plane crashed.  Sadly, she was killed.
The name of her book?    “Wonder When You`ll Miss Me”
_______
You see, you just never know…
_______
“There ain`t no life nowhere…”
Jimi Hendrix
_______
Windchimes in the night….
_______
“He had come to a place that had no memories, nothing…
The noontide sun of summer flowed over the still garden.”
Yukio Mishima
The last line of “Decay of the Angel”  after which he immediately committed ritual suicide, seppuku.
_______
“Dreams often combine the highest level of symbols and the most vulgar of thoughts.”
Mishima
_______
SAMSARA…..the continuous cycle of life…
_______
I`m always bitching about wanting to be somewhere else and I`m sure I give the impression that
I hate Los Angeles, but surely, this is not true.  It is a love/hate relationship that I have with my
hometown, one that cannot be easily explained to a non-native.  There are many things here that
irritate the hell out of me but, on the other hand, there are MANY things to love as well.  It is a hell
of a fascinating place, that`s for sure.  As I sit here on my Hollywood rooftop, Sunday at dusk,
I find many reasons to love it—a purple and indigo sky, crickets, signs lighting up like OJAI,
FONTENOY, KNICKERBOCKER, MONTECITO, and ALTO NIDO.  There is the hum of the city,
the endless white noise that surrounds me, a soft Santa Ana wind, the hissing music of the
101 freeway, and the neon white cross silhouetted up on the mountain against a yellowish-white
band of illumination in the sky….
Yes, LA still has some soul hidden beneath its plastic exterior appearance; you just have to know
where to look…
________
“I wish God was alive to see this…”
Homer Simpson
________
When Nostradomus predicted WW3, he didn`t predict we`d be able to watch it all on television….
________
There is this one guy who asks me for a cigarette every fucking morning and everyday I say NO,
because I don`t have any.  I mean, how stupid is this guy?!  Does he not know that he does this
everyday?  You better recognize, son…  If I ever have a pack, I`ll give him the whole thing just to
shut him up, but I`m afraid that would only hold him off for ONE DAY.  OPEN YOUR FUCKING EYES, MAN!!
________
“Man is merely the caretaker of the land that maintains his life and nourishes his soul.
Therefore, the aina is sacred.  The church of life is not in a building, it is the open sky,
the surrounding ocean, the beautiful soil.”
George Helm
________
you can ride as fast as you want
but you`re still going nowhere,
you can look into the sun
but you`re still fucking blind,
you can listen to all the music in the world
but you`re not really hearing it,
you can walk as far as you can
but it won`t help you with your plan,
you can dream a million dreams
when you`re sleeping in sunbeams,
Just a moment of clarity coming to me
on a summer breeze….and then it`s gone….
________
HAPPY GARDEN VERY NICE
________
NO FLASH PHOTOGRAPHY, PLEASE
________
 IF I COULD FIGURE OUT WHAT IT WAS I WAS LOOKING FOR,
I WOULD PROBABLY BE FINDING IT ANY MINUTE NOW……
________
“Lord, what FOOLS these mortals be.”
William Shakespeare
“A Midsummer Night`s Dream”
________
BATS IN HOLLYWOOD
________
“Show me a hero and I will write you a tragedy.”
________
“We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.”
T.S. Eliot
________
I`m 33 years old, going on 34, and it finally happened….I still have a fairly flat stomach,
the faint remnants of what used to be a washboard or six pack stomach.  However, I
finally have just enough beer fat to cause a few white lines in the tan from sitting in a
chair in the sun.  FUCK.  So here is where it all begins.  It`s all downhill from here on out.
I`ll call it….middle age, yes, that`s it.  I had better get a membership at a gym, start
drinking Diet Coke and nonfat lattes and running 3 miles a day and…………..NO…
________
YESSUH
________
Well, now that I have finished babbling to myself for today,
I suppose it is time for me to go watch television until my eyes bleed….
I suggest you do the same……

 

THB3

 

Leave a Reply

