STREET JOURNAL 17

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

Let it hereby be known that the first copy of this book was destroyed by falling asleep with a full Budweiser in my lap…

________
You want to hear one of the strangest jobs ever?
The great poet, Octavio Paz once supported himself by counting old banknotes
before they were thrown into the furnace at the Central Bank in Mexico City.
I guess waiting tables ain`t so bad, although sometimes, I`d rather be counting extinct banknotes before they burn `em…
_________
 Classic Tabloid headline we wish was true  4/11/03
“OIL FOUND ON THE MOON!
 Gas Prices Fall to 10 Cents a Gallon
 as Arab Oil Becomes Obsolete”
________
When there`s nothing to do,
do nothing…
________
Ahhhhh,
the wiseman keeps his knives sharp
but his wits sharper…
________
“And now I`m going behind this page
but not disappearing.
I`ll dive into clear air
like a swimmer in the sky
and then get back to growing
till one day I`m so small
that the wind will take me away
and I won`t know my own name
and I won`t be there when I wake.
Then I will sing in the silence.”
Pablo Neruda
________
YO NO SAY NADA
________
If you have nothing worth saying,
PLEASE,
I beg of you,
SHUT THE FUCK UP.
________
WELL, THIS IS SIMPLY GOING NOWHERE…
________
You flag-burning hippies!  My uncle was shot in a foxhole in Nam!  What are you even
protesting?  Do you even know?  George Bush didn`t listen to Russia, Germany, or
France about the whole “Iraq thing”,  He sure as hell isn`t gonna listen to some dreadlocked
scumbag smoking dope and banging on bongo drums!  What is it you want anyway?  Frisbees,
picnics, love letters?  “Give me peace a chance?”  HA!!  We tried that, it didn`t work.  The
bad guys won and they`re running shit now.  IF YOU DON`T LIKE AMERICA,
THEN YOU CAN GIT OUT.…….!!!!!!
________
Club Deep
nude dancers, lesbians, beautiful Filipinas, broken glass, bleeding knuckles, sheer stupidity….I LOVE IT!
How the fuck do I end up in these places, anyway?
________
The American Empire…
Get used to it.
Go play some hacky sack and listen to PHISH you goddamned hippies!
________
“NO ETERNAL REWARD WILL FORGIVE US NOW FOR WASTING THE DAWN”
Jim Morrison
________
“I can forgive my injuries in the name of wisdom
luxury
romance–
words got me the wound
and will get me well
if you believe it…”
Jim Morrison
________
“Damn, you smell GOOD, girl,
fresh, like a dewdrop rolling off a banana leaf on a tropical island…”
Dave Polston
________
“And I knew that the lack of reason, the sorrow and pain, I knew it wasn`t going to pass, and nothing could
make me forget the chaos, no answers–nothing could make me forget; but what I felt was an inexpressible
gratitude for the music, that in this horror there could be something as beautiful as that.  You couldn`t
understand anything and you couldn`t change anything, but you could make music like that, art, words.
And I felt the same gratitude when I saw the village children dancing in the sunny glade with their arms
raised and knees bent, and their bodies turning to the rhythm and melodies.  I had a tear in my eye watching
them.  Such innocence and purity.  At least we had these beautiful things.  Such goodness.  The very
sight of a tree alone in a field could make me tremble and cry out.  Fill the orchard with music.  And let
me tell you a secret.  IT NEVER DID PASS, REALLY.”
Anne Rice
“The Vampire Lestat”
________
Don`t ask me no questions
I`ll tell you no lies….
I want a cheeseburger
with a side of fries…
________
A really old man passing a really old woman in a park in Hollywood.  Both of them have made many laps.
Out of breath, he grunts, “I`ll race you to the finish, sweetheart…”
________
an ancient Indian sanskrit bracelet decoded, at last….it says:
EASY COME, EASY GO
________
Golden moment of complete understanding,
when it all becomes clear,
shining like a jewel in the sunlight,
a trillion fractals of crystal lightbeams
coming together to make sense…..
only to burst into infinite fragments
scattered through eternity……
DAMN, THOSE WERE SOME GOOD MUSHROOMS!
________
“When you have to choose between the Truth and the Legend,
PRINT THE LEGEND.
________
Yeah, I heard you the first time….
________
“None of us really changes over time–we only become more fully what we are.”
“I`ve always been my own teacher and I must confess, I`ve always been my
favorite pupil as well.”
Anne Rice
________
Knowledge of the Immortals
________
“No one is listening
Now you may sing the selfsong
as the bird does,
not for territory or dominance,
but for self-enlargement.
Let something come from nothing.”
“Very little is
more worth our time
than understanding
the talent of substance.
A bee, a living bee,
at the window glass,
trying to get out, doomed,
it can`t understand.”
Stan Rice
________
A PLAGUE CALLED COMPLACENCY
________
I think sometimes I`d rather have a broken heart
than to be the heartbreaker….
________
The Matrix……has you
“take the red pill, you stay in wonderland, and I`ll show you just
how deep the rabbit hole goes…”
Morpheus talking to Neo
“Fate, it seems, is not without a sense of irony…”
________
I HAVE OVERDOSED ON THE RED PILLS
________
“Don`t think you are.  KNOW you are.”
“Free your mind.”
“To deny your impulses is to deny the very thing that makes you human.”
“KNOW THYSELF”
________
I dig my own graves and I burn my own bridges….
At least I`m in charge….
________
I just learned to separate the rabble from the reason…
________
If you`re in a hole,
STOP DIGGING.
________
Have your people call my people
Let`s do lunch…
________
You`d fuck a female chimp if I put her in a blonde wig and lipstick, you sick bastard…
I actually said this to Bateman
________
I confess,
I`M NOT SORRY FOR ANYTHING.
________
I`ll put the kibosh on you…
________
A ring doesn`t plug a hole…
________
“My gang will get you…”
J.M.
________
“The first rule of Project Mayhem; DO NOT discuss Project Mayhem…”
“Fight Club”
________
“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others…”
George Orwell
________
No one in LA seems to want the truth, just pretty lies and fairy tales, something they can sensationalize…
________
SCHNELL, SCHNELL, SCHNELL!!!!!!
________
“You can`t always get what you want,
but if you try sometimes,
you just might find,
you get what you need….”
The Rolling Stones
________
My horoscope in the Los Angeles Times on 5/5/03
“Achieving objectives doesn`t have to be the kind of process
laid out in business manuals.”
Good one, eh?
________
“The blue bus is calling us…”
J.M.
________
“NEXT STOP PLEASE”
Bateman
________
Run along, little spacemonkey…
________
“Brisk the music of pulled shades,
a last man`s cave
in an eternity of swarm and explosion.”
Charles Bukowski
________
make a friend of chaos
ride the tiger
reap the whirlwind
ride the lightning
swim through the vortex
stop at nothing to achieve the highest wisdom…..
in order to reach enlightenment,
first,
YOU MUST HAVE LIVED
_________
Yes, the wind is calling us somewhere beyond land`s end…
_________
I`m sorry, did you say something?  I didn`t hear you, I was looking at my shoe…
________
“Most people will never know anything beyond
what they see with their own two eyes…..”
________
When the cops come to the front door, we answer and say,
“Does this look like a donut shop?”  Then, just SLAM it.
Then climb out the window and DISAPPEAR unless you want
to get beat on the kidneys till you piss blood…
_______
Thursday May 8, 2003,  8:42pm
A BAD shooting at Yucca and Vine  (at least 6 shots, rapid fire…)
I think he`s dead.  We all heard it.
_______
Friday, May 9, 2003
34 years of life.  Happy Bday?  Maybe, maybe not.  Very windy.  Does this mean something?
Blowing away the past, perhaps….    whatever, onward and upward…..
_______
DEATH BECOMES YOU
_______
I can`t help it,
I was born this way.
_______
May 10th….OH YEAH….happy day-after birthday!  Some scumbag just stole my laundry from
the dirty cleaners across the street.  If I could have caught em, I would`ve strangled him with
my sheets till his face turned blue, that`s how sick of these scumbags I am.
_______
WALKING PARADOX
_______
“The Man in Black fled across the desert and the Gunslinger followed.”
“His world is indeed moving on because Roland`s universe exists within a single molecule
of a weed dying in some cosmic vacant lot.”
“Go then.  There are other worlds than these…”
Stephen King
“The Dark Tower”
_______
“As Confucius once said, `Five Hundred Million Red Chinese don`t give a shit.` “
_______
and the world has indeed moved on, as it has always moved on,
and all I can do is try to move with it…
_______
“Destruction in the name of `progress` “
Ken Pomeroy
_______
The Art of Leisure
_______
A champion among men;
A gentleman and a scholar…
_______
“A heap of broken images, where the sun beats,
and the dead trees give no shelter,
the crickets no relief,
and the dry stone gives no sound of water.
Come in under the shadow of this red rock
and I will show you something different
from either your shadow in the morning behind you
or your shadow in the evening rising to meet you,
I will show you fear in a handful of dust…”
T.S. Eliot
“The Wasteland”
________
“I do not believe it to be a matter of hope,
it is only a matter of time.”
Morpheus “The Matrix”
________
I`ve always liked leaving cryptic notes and obscure messages
for others to find for no good reason at any given place at any
given time.  It`s so strange that it just seems to make sense.
________
ORACLE
________
“The longest journey begins with but a single step…”
Lao Tzu
________
Sometimes in my metaphysical ruminations, I feel absolutely positive that everything
is in some obscure and unfathomable way, CONNECTED.  Somehow, there is a chaotic
order of sorts to everything–a cosmic plot, a stream, a beam, a FLOW, something
indefinable, that gives each life a mystical purpose on the great wheel of existence.
Every little thing that happens gives birth to another and so on until it makes your head
spin with the mind expanding POSSIBILITIES of it all–TIME, SPACE, UNDERSTANDING…
hell, maybe even a REASON for living…
_________
All this S P A C E in the world and bugs always have to fly in MY eye!  Why?!
_________
Sitting in the shade of the trees at my thinking spot on Hill Street Downtown at noon.  I puff
away on my herb and sip my cold Miller High Life 32oz and laugh at the fact that I sit here
watching the cops drive by all over the place below me while my bag is full of illegal fireworks
and deadly nunchuks and Chinese throwing stars.  Yes, I`ve been shopping for contraband.
The freeway sings its streaming song, construction is all around, crows are cawing overhead
in the trees, sun dapples the cement through the canopy of leaves, and I am a walking felony.
There are distant drums at Olvera Street as the Aztecs dance….This is the music of Los Angeles…
_________
Sunny day, poolside at the downtown Standard Hotel rooftop.  Dave and Blake and I are enjoying
herb, drinks, cool water, blessed sunshine and beautiful ladies.  Blake eventually gets belligerently
drunk and throws his cell phone and shirt into the pool and then later, after we ditched him and then
felt bad, we went back to find him.  He was in one of those red space capsules on the roof with
mattresses inside and he was passed out cold and wrapped up in a sheet.  We got him out of there
and I will never forget him stumbling along behind us and later standing in the middle of 5th Street,
red and sunburned, with traffic driving around him on both sides and honking.  He was like a big, red,
beached whale, jabbering nonsensical obscenities at the passing cars and holding his shattered
cellphone up in the air like a talisman.  He stood in the middle of this river of steel and managed to
wander off the street and back to the relative safety of the sidewalk and he continued to shuffle like
a Frankenstein zombie beside us back to the 7th Street subway station, still shirtless, scaring the
passersby.  Some black dude called him Tarzan.  I wonder if he will remember this day the same as
I (or remember it at all.)  It was fucking classic.  I love that guy just for being purely and completely nuts.
__________
“Abandon Hope,
All ye who enter here”
Dante
“Inferno”
I put this on the door at Blake`s apartment #309…
__________
“Catch your dreams before they slip away…”
The Rolling Stones
_________
“I will love thee forever, my dear,
come whatever storms…”
_________
“THERE`S NO PLACE LIKE HOME
   THERE`S NO PLACE LIKE HOME
     THERE`S NO PLACE LIKE HOME…”
_________
here is a haiku written by a 22-year-old Japanese Kamikaze pilot before his final WW2 flight….
“If only we might fall
like cherry blossoms in spring
pure and radiant”
_________
Time is a slow and painful killer;
I will try to live outside of time.
_________
cutting through the fabric of the infinite
with an open edge…
_________
Monday, May 26th, 2003, Memorial Day….
This time I am alone at the Standard and it is 9am.  I am sitting by the pool before the crowds
come and a giant black raven comes soaring down from the high office towers above and glides
in a solid arc  WHOOSH  4 feet over my head and lands on the rail right next to me and just
stares at me from a flat sparkling eye…….interesting…….
_________
“He who attempts to penetrate into the Rose Garden of the Philosophers without the key
resembles a man who would walk without feet.”
_________
We know the watchers are watching but
WHO`S WATCHING THE WATCHERS?
_________
I know,
look at me…..I`M A MESS….
_________
You scared me by giving me a glimpse of what my life might have been…
________
The following excerpt is by Anne Rice:
“BELIEVE IN ME, IN MY WORDS, IN WHAT I HAVE SAID AND WHAT HAS BEEN WRITTEN DOWN.
I AM HERE, STILL, THE HERO OF MY OWN DREAMS AND LET ME PLEASE KEEP MY PLACE IN YOURS.
LET ME PASS NOW
FROM FICTION
INTO LEGEND.”
THB3

 

Leave a Reply

