STREET JOURNAL 26

Standard

by Tom H. Brooks 3

“I WISH GOD WERE ALIVE TO SEE THIS……………………..…………………………………………………..”

Homer Simpson
_______
ANOTHER BOOK OF APHORISMS
_______
“The courts might not work anymore, but as long as everybody`s videotaping
everybody else, justice will be done.”
_______
“Please, please…hold all your applause until it`s for me.”
Steve Martin
_______
Street quote #657
“Hey man, wanna buy a Rolex?”
I thought this only happened in the movies, but it happened on Hollywood Blvd…
_______
Jesus-freaks outside the Oscars holding signs…
“Jesus,
not Oscar idolatry”
_______
Security breach….RED ALERT
Swat team cop having a smoke nearby;
GIANT M-16 assault rifle sitting unguarded
on his car seat, windows open…
_______
Treasure every moment because life is cruel and beautiful,
something tragic about it, alas, it is too short, we must give
it our own meaning and purpose…
youth and beauty in the springtime, the summer prime of life,
fading autumn twilight, disillusioned, jaded perhaps, older,
fatter, uglier, maybe wiser, wittier, smarter…but so frail as
the cold and forbidding winter years creep up on us…
and then, the black door, the final curtain call, death….
death changes everything….
_______
I DREAMED I HAD INSOMNIA ALL NIGHT
_______
“Denial is the most predictable of all human responses.”
_______
I`ve lost the narrative thread!
_______
“There are levels of survival we are prepared to accept…”
“HOPE, the quintessential human delusion; consequently,
the source of your greatest strengths and your greatest weaknesses.”
“The Matrix”
_______
IS THIS STORY LONGER THAN ONE MINUTE?
A common question at Yucca Estates….
_______
A.D.D.s got a hold of me…
_______
” `you look fine…`
`I didn`t ask.` “
Jack Nicholson as “The Joker”
it`s all in the delivery…
_______
FUCK!  I`m gonna buy a CATTLE PROD……
seriously, I REALLY want one….
_______
“How vain it is to sit down to write
when one has not stood up to live.”
Henry David Thoreau
_______
“I`m sure awards are reassuring to those of us
who don`t already know how great we really are.”
Bob Hope
_______
Always pay attention to the subtleties
of the human mind.
IT IS A UNIVERSE UNTO ITSELF.
_______
See ya later, KILLJOY…
_______
“Your guilty conscience may force you to vote Democratic but deep down inside you secretly
long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals and rule you like a king;
that`s why I did this, to protect you from yourselves…”
“The Simpsons”
_______
Reflections of a Brainless Idiot
and Other Tales of Folly and Comedy
_______
Crossing rivers is not easy when you keep burning bridges…
_______
Sick Puppy
_______
“I knew that I could never again raise my voice against the violence of the oppressed ghettos
without first speaking out clearly to the greatest purveyor of violence in the world today, my own
government.  For the sake of those boys at war overseas, the war torn countries, the oppressed
people everywhere trembling under this violence, I cannot be silent.”
Martin Luther King Jr.
_______
“I`m lying…I am afraid…”
“Lost in a Roman wilderness of pain,
and all the children are insane…”
Jim Morrison
_______
“The difficult truth is that aesthetic satisfaction is not one with ethical satisfaction.”
Angus Wilson
_______
“And for the little, little span
the dead are borne in mind,
Seek not to question other than
The books I leave behind.”
Rudyard Kipling
_______
” `Who are you?`
`I am the Architect.  I created the Matrix.  I have been waiting for you.  You have many questions,
and though the process has altered your consciousness you remain irrevocably human, ergo , some
of my answers you will understand and some of them you will not; concurrently, while your first question
may be the most pertinent, you may or may not realize that it is also the most irrelevant.`
`Why am I here?`
`Your life is the sum of a remainder of an unbalanced equation inherent to the programming of the Matrix.
You are the eventuality of an anomaly which despite my sincerest efforts, I have been unable to eliminate
from what is otherwise a harmony of mathematical precision.` “
“The Matrix”
_______
“The closer you are to death,
the more you realize you are alive.”
_______
“He who makes a beast of himself gets rid of the pain of being a man.”
Dr. Johnson
_______
“In his later years he moved to Los Angeles and found fulfillment playing table tennis with naked
Japanese girls, which was one of his versions of paradise.  I suspected he was gaga when he
championed Erica Jong as a great writer.”
Paul Theroux on Henry Miller
_______
Work that you do not love is a time-consuming, wasteful, tedious exercise in monotony…
_______
The 7-11 at Yucca and Cahuenga is probably one of the weirdest damn locations on the globe–
especially since Blake walked in there butt-naked…
I can`t believe he pulled THAT off without getting arrested…
_______
I have a demon with many faces and his name is ALCOHOL…
_______
The first bus I saw today was a Greyhound going to St. Louis; I almost got on it…..
_______
“It`s not the fall that kills you, it`s the sudden stop…”
DWP
_______
“Is life worth living?  That depends on the one living it.”
Blake St. John
_______
“I never pump up my vulgarity.  I wait for it to arrive on its own terms.”
Charles Bukowski
_______
“You laugh at me `cause I`m different, but I laugh at you `cause you`re all the same.”
_______
“Yeah, uh, I gotta go….(looks at watch..) I`ve got an overseas call coming in at home…”
“Tony Soprano”
_______
“Go to sleep, tiny dancer…”
Owen Wilson in “Starsky and Hutch”
_______
“To err is human,
to forgive is divine.”
_______
“KEEP HONKING
I`M RELOADING”
a classic bumpersticker
_______
BUFFOONERY
THIS is what we do ALL THE TIME at Yucca Estates…
_______
Highland/Odin Park by the Hollywood Bowl
Street Conversation #749
I had my Nikon camera….a couple of jackasses that probably LIVED in the park were
walking towards me.  I was alone.  I heard one of them mutter under his breath to
the other one, “Let`s hit him over the head and grab the camera…”
I suddenly turned aggressive; it was the only way.  I whipped out my knife which
flashed menacingly in the sun, “I got a better idea, scumbag…howzabout I carve
some bacon off your back and feed it to your friend?!  Get the fuck out, man, I`m
not in the mood to get your blood on my clothes!”  They half-walked, half-ran away…
Well, that settles that….
_______
I love soaking my alcohol in liver ha ha ha…..
_______
my second girlfriend is such a drag…
_______
charmed, I`m sure…
_______
The crickets are back, springtime is upon us…
_______
“I am what I am…”
_______
“All men who hear the Truth hear My voice.”
_______
“I cannot be with you much longer my friends; You cannot go where I am going…”
_______
“It is accomplished.”
_______
“DO IT….DO IT…”
“Starsky”…undercover…
_______
“woooop, wooooop…….wait`ll they get a load of me…”
“The Joker”  Nicholson
_______
TOMORROW
COULD BRING
ANYTHING
_______
Things are so simple if you just LET them be…
_______
“Truth” is often a matter of opinion…
_______
Yeah, yeah, I`M an actor;
Now I`m playing the part of someone who cares…
Now, I`m playing the part of guy who`s actually
talking reality.
“So, I`m playing the part of a character who`s HAPPY?”
David Bateman
_______
Never able to forget you`re in LA when you take a walk;
A girl at the corner of Ivar and Yucca in a red tank top
with GIANT fake titties.  She`s got a huge brown pit bull
on a thick chain and a big plastic bag full of crap in the other hand…
_______
3/11/04
Tried to take Bateman on an adventure; therefore, didn`t go anywhere at all…
Now I`m playing the part of a character who`s NEVER taking anyone on an adventure again…
_______
Return of the springtime midnight mockingbirds…
_______
3/11/04
After ditching the monkey (Bateman), I took a nap on the roof, had a couple of tacos at
Alvarado Street and then went swimming in the rooftop pool at the downtown Standard Hotel.
See, I KNOW HOW TO DO IT…
When I got home later, he was just SITTING there watching wrestling on TV…
_______
“We have assembled in this ancient and insane theatre
to propagate our lust for life.”
Jim Morrison
_______
This evening`s entertainment;
Two sexy Latina babes, one of them dancing on the table in the cutest little flowered bra…
How do I get up in the morning?
Answer: with a BIG fucking smile.
_______
Never swim in the same river twice
_______
Time makes monkeys of us all.
_______
3/12/04
Served breakfast to legendary rocker, Alice Cooper….”welcome to my nightmare; I think you`re gonna like it…”
_______
I`m down like Jim Brown
_______
“Lyrically performed armed robberies…”
Wu-Tang
_______
“I see the Light…..IT BURNS…!”
Homer Simpson
_______
TOMFOOLERY
_______
YOU`RE STILL HERE?!?
_______
“The appearance of the law must be upheld;
especially while it`s being broken.”
“Gangs of New York”
_______
FLASH FORWARD……….
トム MY NAME IN KATAKANA
とむ MY NAME IN HIRAGANA
富夢 MY NAME IN KANJI
_______
FLASH BACK………..
_______
ok, now we`re back in 2004…
__
That guy is SO stupid,
I have his brains on the outside rim of my bunghole…
_______
Sometimes I feel like I`m living in the bleak, nightmarish world of an
Orwell or Huxley novel.  Just read the headlines and pay attention to
the bullshit propaganda and open your eyes.  THINK.  PAY ATTENTION.
You`ll get the picture.
A 3 ring circus, indeed, ridiculous; run by Machiavellian puppet masters of
the highest order….that would be an apt description.
_______
Now, I`m playing the part of a writer…
_______
I live my life one enchilada at a time…
_______
“I was in the bath one day when I realized why
I was destined for greatness…”
“The Joker”  Nicholson
_______
“Do you want me to take care of it?”
“The Sopranos”
_______
“Let`s go; he`s (Homer) on the Blue Man Group thing again…”
“He`s still looking for that chocolate factory.  It consumes him…”
“The Simpsons”
_______
I`M a Mormon?!?  But I`m from earth…”
“First the sugar, then the money, then the women…”
Homer Simpson
_______
Spent the night (Sunday 3/14) surrounded by lovely Brazilian girls
for an intimate party at Yucca Estates.  Anna-Louise is gorgeous.
Me happy.
_______
That guy so dumb, you could sell him a bag of oregano and tell him it`s chronic
from Tahiti.  He so stupid, he use a dishrag for a bath towel.  If he gets any dumber,
his skull gonna implode.  He so stupid, one time he went into a church to try to
buy some bread and wine….TO GO.  He so dumb, he drove his car through the
front of a police station with a bottle of Wild Turkey between his legs and tried
to order a Big Mac from the desk sergeant.  You know what happened next….
_______
“I am sure that no law made by man is sacred before the impulse of passion…
there is no law before impulse.”
James Joyce
“The Exiles”
_______
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
SO REPETITIVE
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
_______
SCHNELL!!  SCHNELL!!
GOTT IN HIMMEL!!
_______
LISTEN RUMMY, IF YOU CAN`T KEEP UP, GET OUTTA THE WAY…
_______
“I`m not gonna lie to ya, honey…”
(then, just leave…)
Homer Simpson
_______
from a photo exhibit at LACMA
“One of the risks of appearing in public is the likelihood of being photographed.”
“I could photograph anything I wanted to.  I was terribly elated.  Nothing is ever
the same as they said it was.  It`s what I`ve never seen before that I recognize.
Nothing is ever alike.  The best thing is the difference.  I get to keep what nobody
needs. A photograph is a secret about a secret.  The more it tells you the less
you know.
“I want to photograph the considerable ceremonies of our present because we tend
while living here and now to perceive only what is random and barren and formless
about it.  While we regret that the present is not like the past and despair of its ever
becoming the future, its innumerable inscrutable habits lie in wait for their meaning.
I want to gather them, like somebody`s grandmother putting up preserves, because
they will have been so beautiful.  These are our rites, our symptoms and our monuments.
I want simply to save them, for what is ceremonious and curious and commonplace
will be legendary.
Diane Arbus
________
“The best of all possible worlds”
________
“Let the bodies hit the floor…..let the bodies hit the floor…”
The Drowning Pool
(I heard this song and I remembered that I worked on this music video…I was working
as a production assistant and it was filmed way out in Pacoima at some old motel…
It`s stupid; talk about a one hit wonder…never heard from those clowns again…)
________
The very act of observation itself
changes the nature
of that which is being observed…
________
There is and has been for a long time now, a duck, living in the fountain water at California
Plaza in Downtown LA.  Boy, are you lost, son!
________
“Out of touch in Africa was where I wanted to be.  The wish to disappear sends many travelers
away.  If you are thoroughly sick of being kept waiting at home or work, travel is perfect: let
other people wait for a change.  Being kept waiting is the human condition.  Travel in the African
bush can be a sort of revenge of cell phones and fax machines, for being put on hold, for
telephones and the daily paper, in general, on the creepier aspects of globalization that allow
anyone who chooses to get his hands on you, to do so in any number of ways.  Travel is a
desire to be unobtainable.  Kurtz, as sick as he is, attempts to escape Marlowe`s riverboat,
crawling on all fours like an animal, trying to flee into the jungle.  I understand that.  I was going
to Africa in the spirit of discovery.  Let other people explain where I am.  I imagined the dialogue:
`When will Paul be back?`
`We don`t know.`
`Where is he?`
`We`re not sure.`
`Can you get in touch with him?`
`No.`
HA!  I had gotten to Lower Egypt and was heading south, in my usual traveling mode; hoping for
the picturesque, expecting misery, braced for the appalling.  Happiness was unthinkable, although
desirable, a banal subject for travel.  Africa was perfect for an epic journey…”
Paul Theroux  (paraphrased by me)
“Dark Star Safari”
________
“thirsty and miserable, always wanting MORE…”
Black Flag
________
I`ve got to admit, the Hollywood Boulevard Charlie Chaplin impersonator does a fine job…
________
“One step beyond…”
________
There is an exception to every rule
________
HEDONISM
________
“Smoke it….!  Know the use of it..”
Peter Tosh
________
“I drifted on a river I could not control.
I`ve seen what men have only dreamed they saw.”
“The Drunken Boat”
“The best thing is to quit this continent where madness prowls…
I will enter the true kingdom of the sons of Ham.”
“A Season in Hell”
ARTHUR RIMBAUD
________
“Did you ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?”
“The Joker”  Nicholson
________
The Art of Subterfuge
________
listening to Coltrane`s Ascension, music washes over me like waves of night…
________
4/24/04
I just saw fat-ass Ron Jeremy coming out of Hamburger Hamlet on the Boulevard
and I started cracking up…
Next thing I know, I`m taking photos of him with some girl`s camera…a sexy British
babe named Anouska (charmed, love) and 2 Japanese girls.  How this happened,
I do not know, but it DID…
________
psychosomatic….
“sometimes, when a disease is in ALL the magazines and on ALL the news shows,
it`s only natural that you think you have it.”
________
YAAAAAAAAAACCCKKKK
________
“oh well, I`m sorry I`m not interested in oil mines, shipping or real estate…”
Jack White
________
“there is no true love”
Jack White
________
“I remember you as you were in that ultimate autumn.
You were a gray beret and the whole being at peace.
In your eyes the fires of the evening dusk were battling,
and the leaves were falling in the waters of your soul.”
“There are cemeteries that are lonely,
graves full of bones that make no sound,
the heart moving through a tunnel,
in it darkness, darkness, darkness,
like a shipwreck we die going into ourselves,
as though we were drawing inside our hearts,
as though we lived falling out of skin into the soul.”
Pablo Neruda
“Nothing but Death”
_________
“We have to dream further,
all the way to the fountain,
we have to row centuries upstream,
further than infancy,
further than the beginning,
further than the baptizing waters,
to throw down walls between person and person,
to join anew that which is separated,
life and death are not worlds opposite,
they are one single stalk
with two twin flowers;
we have to dig up the lost word,
to decipher the tattooing on night
and look face to face at noon
and tear its mask away…”
Octavio Paz
“The Broken Jar”
__________
SICK WORDS FROM DRUNKEN CONVERSATIONS AT YUCCA ESTATES…
I`m gonna stick my pumpernickel in her breadbox…
They all look the same with their legs in the air and a pillow over their face…
__________
I don`t get paid enough to care…
__________
“It is the awaited hour
over the table falls
interminably
the lamp`s spread hair
night turns the window
to immensity
There is no one here
Presence
without name
surrounds me…”
“Claw of sunlight
on a heap of bones…”
“Twilight
lights on the water
what I have seen, said,
the white sun erases…”
FROM WITH YOU (CONTIGO)
 
“Gusts of wind turquoise
parrots fleeing in pairs, vehemence,
the world flames, a tree
seething with crows, blazes without burning.
You are quiet among the tall sunflowers
A pause of light, the day is a great clear word
palpitation of vowels
your breasts ripen under my eyes
My thought is lighter than air
I am real–I see my life and my death
The world is true–I see…
I inhabit a transparency…”
Octavio Paz
_________________
The lighted tower at Sunset and Vine constantly changes colors in an ever-changing
multicolored beacon of light from yellow to green to red to purple to yellow again,
up, down, side to side, all of this luminous, electronic madness, framed against a
backdrop of cobalt blue sky and a hanging silver crescent moon…
________
“The eagle has landed….”
________
Please….no negative energy;
Kindly allow me my pleasant little bubble of complacency…
________
Unknown territory
Terra Incognita
________
there`s the rub…
________
Please, PLEASE!
Let me have my illusions….!
________
O how I love going to sleep as the sun rises
and the birds gather to sing their morning songs…
There is NOTHING like the vivid clarity
of an hour carved in stone
perhaps, a bit obscure,
but when deciphered,
full of revelations and funny stories.
These are the seemingly unimportant moments
that construct the abstract configurations
that govern and direct
the course of our unpredictable lives…
_________
A Forest Lawn Cemetery billboard I saw…..
(A picture of 2 old folks smiling and fishing in the River Styx…)
“CELEBRATE LIFE BY GETTING BURIED WITH A
MILLION OTHER ANONYMOUS ROTTING CORPSES”
_________
ON THE CUTTING EDGE OF EVERYTHING
_________
Marmalade Cafe, Sunday Brunch….
If you`re gonna be relentless breeders,
please keep your bratty offspring on a
leash or brand them or SOMETHING
for Chrissakes!
_________
I just saw a guy sucking on a biker chick`s bare titty
outside Coach and Horses on Sunset Boulevard.
Now I`ve seen everything (NO I HAVEN`T)
_________
I was walking down Hollywood Blvd. when some black guy hands me a flyer
for the OASIS on Ivar.  It is a foundation to benefit troubled and/or runaway
kids that has been there for 25 years.  It was amusing and somewhat flattering…
how old does he think I am?  I am thirty fucking four years old, man!  HA!
_________
“The true harvest of my daily life is somewhat as intangible and indescribable
as the tints of morning or evening.  It is a little stardust caught, a segment of
the rainbow which I have clutched.”
Henry David Thoreau
“Walden”
_________
I have not drank any liquor or beer in 4 days, maybe 5.  Oh, I`ll be back, trust me,
like a drunken Mick, full-force, baby……I just wanted to prove to myself that I`m
not a full-blown alcoholic unless I FEEL like being one…depends on my mood, I guess…..
_________
Please….leave me alone with all your petty dramas and intrigues and whining.  MY days
are FUN, thank you.  I am mostly HAPPY a lot of the time.  I do not like to argue and
I do not thrive on tension and stress; novel ideas, radical even, I know, in modern society
where stress and $$$ are EVERYTHING.  No thanks, I HEAR MY OWN MUSIC AND
IT IS A REALLY GREAT SONG….
_________
Pan-Pacific Park
I just saw ICE CUBE of N.W.A. boxing with 5 friends…
_________
GOOD LAWD, YOU UGLY!!
_________
CURTIS IS ON THE CASE
_________
“Things Fall Apart”
_________
Listen, we NEVER had this conversation…
_________
“Matako alaabili tabuli kucumbana…”
“TWO BUTTOCKS CANNOT AVOID FRICTION.”
Malawi wisdom from the Chichewa people
_________
“I TOUCHED HER THIGH AND DEATH SMILED.”
Jim Morrison
____________________________________________________________________
April 1, 2004  4:20am
The beginning of one of my EPIC skateboard journeys across Los Angeles.  I am flying through the
streets, wind in my ears in the electric blue light of the pre-dawn darkness…
My intention today, if all goes well and I don`t change my mind, is to take the soon-to-be-obsolete
#446 bus line to Point Fermin and then skateboard ALL THE WAY OVER the Palos Verdes Peninsula
to Malaga Cove.  I have never done this before and it`s high time I did.  This is my MASTER PLAN.
E.T.A. at Point Fermin, 6:25am.
The Journey is the tale, the Journey is the story, the Adventure begins HERE……
POP THE CLUTCH….
7am, I sit alone at Sunken City.  The wind blows gently through these old, gray graffitied stones.  This
breeze makes soft music hissing through the grass and trees with the crashing surf below as a bass
drum and squeals of seabirds punctuate the air with treble.  All is forlorn, desolate and beautiful.  A
foghorn sounds in the far distance and a sea lion barks on a nearby buoy.  The sun has not yet burst
through the clouds in full, but rather, has backlit the sky in glowing blue-gray tones, occasionally penetrated
by sharp knives of sunlight that waver and disappear.  Nothing lasts forever.  I have a long way to go today.
So it goes…
___
Sunken City ruins
torn asunder
scattered rocks
broken glass
stones
boulders
obscure writing
graffiti
symbols
grass growing
in every crack
strange blossoms
creatures
altars
like a fallen temple
to some forgotten god…
___
Staring at a majestic royal palm framed against the glowing blue-gray sky for ten minutes, searing every
detail into my mind`s eye with intense and vivid clarity, to be recalled for future descriptions, to be
remembered forever.  Just now, a huge black raven passes me, gliding effortlessly on the wind, and
a bright red-orange Coast Guard helicopter comes roaring around the point, flying low.  It doesn`t even
faze the bird; I have them both in a perfect frame, but for a moment, nothing more…
The coastline between Point Fermin and Point Vicente is as it has always been, rocky and full of logs
and driftwood, flotsam and jetsam.  This adorable little Latina babe is jogging around the park smiling
at me and says hello.  My day just keeps getting better.  A raven squawks, a set of big waves comes
through far below on the ocean and the sun bursts through the clouds.  The air smells like the ocean,
freshly cut grass, and gardenias.  Now the dolphins are riding the waves in the sea.  I am warmed by
the generous sunlight.  My heart is filled with joy.  ALWAYS remember days like this….
Western Avenue Canyon, where this L O N G thoroughfare finally hits the sea after traveling through
Hollywood and the ghettos of South Central and the Harbor City area, finally coming to this screaming
blue ocean….I am now walking my skateboard up the hill, just above Vista del Mar.  The blue bottle-brushes
are flowering in full vivid blossoms, bright blue and magenta, almost glowing.  Nothing but me and the
singing birds.  I am walking a trail above the street and I see a cat across the canyon on his own trail.  I call
to him and he meows back.  I continue onward through the trees…
Later, just had an awesomely fluid and beautiful downhill run from Rotunda to Schooner Drive.  Mockingbirds
sing amongst the springtime wildflowers.  In the middle of nowhere at Portuguese Bend, I smell someone
cooking bacon and eggs.  Naturally, I am suddenly hungry.  Although beer and weed is a tasty breakfast,
it is not very filling.  Never in my life have I SKATEBOARDED through the landslide zone at Portuguese Bend…
WHAT A RUSH!!!  Damn, for some reason it makes me think of surfing in Hawaii; I really miss that….
Just after this, I received a call from the 719 area code (?).  I am in the middle of nowhere, walking my skateboard
up a long hill and this lady on the phone thinks she`s reached the Colorado State Board of Education!  RANDOM…
I just clocked 21 mph going by one of those radar stands and I`m writing this WHILE moving>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Now I`m strolling uphill again as a huge falcon soars gracefully above me on the thermal drafts…
There is a very tropical-feeling moisture in the air today, sticky and humid with thick clouds.  It reminds me of
Hawaiian weather.  Now I`m in Palos Verdes Estates and for some reason it is making me think of Punta Gorda,
Florida.  Don`t ask me why, I`m just telling it like it is…
Now, I`m sitting under my old favorite pine tree above Indicator Point on the north side of Palos Verdes.  I have
officially succeeded on Peninsula skateboard odyssey.  Every time I see this tree, I know it could be the last.
Sooner or later, I`m afraid someone might cut it down or it might topple over the cliff into the sea.  Very recently,
in fact, a giant branch broke off under the weight of 1000 pinecones.  I sit and bask in its cool, green shade and
dream my tropical dreams.  Hidey-ho, here we go again……..everything, so very green, even this chronic herb…
This day has been meant for me to exist through it.  Throughout time, it was waiting for me to come along and live it.
Its moody skies were perfect for the shutter in my mind`s eye lens.  Everything was softly hovering in muted
pastel colors, vivid against the vast and endless sky…
Sitting on my ass on the board and rolling full speed and helter skelter out of fucking control down the path to Malaga
Cove…..I made it unscathed and in one piece….
11:06am…I am walking past Malaga Cove and along Rat Beach towards Redondo to the north.  I have been riding
across this beautiful peninsula since 8:30am.  Not bad time at all for a strange and often drunken old bastard.  Not
bad at all…
Things found along LA roads and beaches on 4/1/04:
*small Jesus-freak pamphlet
*used rubbers(2)
*unused rubbers in package(4)
*Tecate cans(5)
*food wrappers(120 before I stopped counting)
*a crusty hairbrush
*broken glass(literally TONS)
*rusty nails(hundreds)
*cigarette butts(millions)
*industrial palette scanner labels(1 full roll; fluorescent orange)
*chipped wood
*pebbles
*a broken cell phone
*old green pennies
*bits of styrofoam everywhere(indestructible)
*a half-burnt dollar bill(probably the other half of the one I burned at Red Lobster years ago…)
*I Mexican Peso (old)
*pinecones
*dead bees at seashore(do they go to the ocean to die?)
*2 nasty blackened old socks
and SO MUCH more….
WORDS IN MOTION>>>>>>>>>>>
WALK OFF THE PAIN~~~~~~~~~~
What if my whole life has been a dream and in reality, I am still in that hospital bed in a coma
from my skateboard skull-cracking at sixteen years old?
___
Call of the sandpiper
empty beach
wispy tendrils of iron
streaking black designs
through wet sand
shimmering
like strange plants
made of sand & minerals
The wind and the gulls
are a symphony in
a moody sky filled
with glowing beams of light
The ocean sings her song
and as always,
my footprints
are the only ones to be seen…
___
impulse inspiration freeflow ….
________
white seagulls and black ravens
wheeling about overhead
as I walk along barefoot in the sand
sloshing through the shore break froth
and looking at seashells
for hidden messages…
________
old school barefoot skateboarding through Redondo…
________
So many changes over the years,
really, too many to name…
this is no longer the town I grew up in…
________
Conveniently, the wind is blowing me north…
________
I was walking by the Redondo Beach Courthouse, which is ON the pier.
I saw a cop and a lawyer standing outside and I said to them that this
is the damn nicest courthouse I`ve ever seen and that they`ve got a sweet
gig.  I wasn’t being a smart-ass, it IS a nice building and they both laughed
and agreed with me…
________
Stopped at the Redondo Fish Market for a beer and started riding north through
Hermosa after a nice smoke break.  Perhaps it`s all the Spanish that was spoken
around me at the market, but I`m thinking of Mexico.  I miss it…
________
You giving me a hard look, tough guy?!?  I spit on your grave.  NOTHING can bring
me down today.  I laugh at you, pathetic, angry little fucker….HA!
________
I love the musty, steaming, fresh smell of cool springtime rains on hot cement and asphalt…
looks like I was right about the humidity today….
________
To look behind me, where I was this morning, the clouds look black and vicious like a serious
rainstorm.  To the north of me, where I`m going, the clouds whiten up like cotton balls and
look like they are thinning out and turning to sunshine…
________
Tropical storm in the south….
________
When I look back at that huge peninsula mountain looming behind me like a sentinel and I think
how I just SKATEBOARDED and WALKED over that thing, I just start to laugh as I roll through
Hermosa Beach…
________
1:45pm…rolling into bright sunlight in Manhattan Beach…
________
Manhattan Beach, a sexy black lesbian and her cute white girlfriend walked by holding hands
and winked at me with sassy smiles.  Later, they drove by in a car and honked and screamed
at me……what, exactly, is going on here?
________
I`m now skateboarding full speed past the El Segundo power plant and for some reason, that old
song by Ratt, “Round and Round” is pounding in my head.  It`s Budweiser time.  Yeeeaaahhhhh!!
All the way down to DWP….NO CARS!!
And then a GIANT Lufthansa 767 flies over me by the airport with a roar…..
My final destination today is Venice Beach after 35 miles of rigorous training and cardiovascular
activity.  Now I`m stopping at 99 palms airplane park by Dockweiler Beach for a pot and beer break…
The sun is glittering brightly on a windswept sea like a million tiny crystals shimmering and a white
sailboat glides gently across a sea of diamonds, going somewhere; where is not really important…
I`m starting to talk and laugh out loud too much today…the isolation is getting to me.  I was doubled
over in laughter about some crazy thought in the park when some guy nearby caught me, looked
alarmed and ran away…..HA!!!  Yeah, buddy, beat it!  This is MY PARK, MINE, ya hear me?!
A sun warmed bench on a vast beach.  This bench has been waiting for me all day to find it.  Yes,
thank you, I WILL have a rest here….
I raced a Catalina Boat down the isthmus in Marina del Rey at about 8 knots….I won…..saw a bike
cop and I just nodded and smiled as he did the same…
Even if I go over these notes and writings some unknown time in the future and edit them, I will always
remember one thing: THE ORIGINAL MOMENT, THE SECOND I WRITE THEM IN; IT IS ALWAYS
THE MOST HONEST, THE MOST PURE, NOT PLANNED BUT IMPULSE, FROM-THE-HEART,
HAPHAZARD THOUGHTS THAT COME OUT LIKE PEARLS….
Just hit a huge camouflaged rock, almost a fucking boulder!  Got lucky, didn`t fall…
Hot babe in a black SUV slows down and turns and smiles.  What a great day!  Who loves ya, baby?
That`s right, it`s 4:20pm.  I`ve been up since 4:20am.  You KNOW what time it is!
Venice Canals for a bowl of medicine.
No more sun but plenty of birds.
JUST DITCHED TWO COPS ON THE CANAL BY CUTTING THROUGH AN OLD GODSENT ALLEY
I`VE NEVER SEEN BEFORE.  (Polston and Ronnie; this is when I first discovered what we like to 
call the “Wind Up Bird Alley”) 
Right now, I`m a fugitive.  I might have to go to Santa Monica after all to make sure those pigs don`t
find me.  The sun is breaking through the clouds again as I write this so I think you know what happens
next…..
Every good adventure has to have at least one good fall and yes, inevitably it happened today too…
(The beers don`t help with the falling but they DO help the pain).  I ollied off a curb just as I got to Santa Monica
and landed in a crack and went f l y i n g……..drop, tuck and roll, bitches, I JUMPED up like nothing
happened.
I see Kevin and Cecelia on the beach and while Kevin plays street hockey, I have a sunset bowl
with sexy CECI….the babe from Venezuela….
6pm another tropical rain comes through for all of 5 minutes and makes my day.  Combined with a fiery
orange and pink sunset like a psychedelic orange slice….perfection….
Santa Monica 6:40pm….safely away from police, undercover of night…heading home….over and out…..
Finally got home after napping on the bus.  It is 8:45pm.  It has been a sixteen and a half hour day…..spent
pretty much ALL OUTSIDE…….signing off…..
__________________________________________________________________________
Even after skateboarding almost 40 miles yesterday, I wake up today at first light with the
birds chirping and nothing more than puffy red eyes and a couple of bloody skateboard wounds…..
MY CUP RUNNETH OVER…..
________
“TO THINK OF IT; THAT THE WORLD I INHABIT IS ORDERED BY BEINGS WHO ARE NOT
ONE-TENTH SO CLEVER AS I AM.  I HAVE OFTEN SUSPECTED AS MUCH, AND IT IS
DECIDEDLY UNFAIR.  NOW, LET ME SEE IF I CANNOT MAKE SOMETHING OUT OF BEING
SUCH A MONSTROUS CLEVER FELLOW.”
________
I think it is so funny the way I gather food every morning like a little squirrel gathering nuts
for the winter.  I get sandwiches, have an early breakfast, and then I lie around in the heat
of the day….the same thing I did in Mexico.  Up at first light, I`d be getting tamales and
gathering coconuts and by noon, I`d already be buzzed on Agave wine with coconut milk
and volcanic herb……ahhhhh …..Mexico…..
________
“The future belongs to crowds.”
Don DeLillo
________
So get a reservation now; space is limited….
________
$ell Out….
________
believe in nothing
question everything
________
Do you think I`m just SAYING these things for NO REASON?!?
________
WHATEVER….
THB3

 

Leave a Reply

