A TOUCH OF VANILLA IN YOUR COFFEE…

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

WAIT A MINUTE…!…this isn`t about coffee…IT`S STREET JOURNAL 65!!!!

NEITHER HERE NOR THERE, BUT RATHER, SOMEWHERE IN BETWEEN, THE DEFINITION OF WHICH WOULD BE VAGUE AND OPAQUE…

_____
 
Hi, My name is Tom Brooks; I believe you`ve heard from me before…
_____
And………….HERE WE GO AGAIN>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
_____
A MAP OF THE SUBCONSCIOUS
disclaimer: (subject to change at any time)
_____
THE BLUE SAPPHIRE EDITION
_____
F R A G M E N T S > > > > > > > > >
_____
 “Something`s Knocking at the Door
a great white light dawns across the
continent
as we fawn over our failed traditions,
often kill to preserve them
or sometimes kill just to kill.
it doesn`t seem to matter:
the answers dangle
just out of reach–
out of hand, out of mind.
The leaders of the past were insufficient,
the leaders of the present are unprepared.
We curl up tightly in our beds at night and wait,
it is waiting without hope, more like
a prayer for unmerited grace.
It all looks more and more
like the same old movie.
The actors are different but
the plot`s the same: senseless.
We should`ve known, watching our fathers.
We should`ve known, watching our mothers.
They didn`t know.
They were not prepared to teach.
We were too naive to ignore their counsel
and now we have embraced their
ignorance as our own.
We are them, multiplied.
We are their unpaid debts.
We are bankrupt in money and spirit.
There are a few exceptions, of course,
but these teeter on the edge and will,
at any moment, tumble down to
join the rest of us,
the raving, the battered, the blind,
and the sadly corrupt.
A great white light dawns across the
continent,
the flowers open blindly in the stinking
wind, as grotesque and ultimately
unlivable,
our 21st century
struggles to be born.”
Charles Bukowski
_______
 YOU CANNOT GO BACK
_______
from “Dinosauria, We” by Charles Bukowski  (excerpts; not complete…)
“Born into this
into hospitals which are so expensive
that it`s cheaper to die
into lawyers who charge so much
that it`s cheaper to plead guilty
into a country where the jails are full
and the madhouses closed
into a place where the masses elevate
fools into rich heroes….
…and there will be the most
beautiful silence never heard,
born out of that, the sun still hidden there,
awaiting the next chapter.”
Bukowski
______
The Bluebird
There`s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I`m too tough for him,
I say, stay in there, I`m not going
to let anybody see you.
There`s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I pour whiskey on him and inhale
cigarette smoke
and the whores and the bartenders
and the grocery clerks
never know that he`s in there.
I only let him out at night sometimes
when everybody`s asleep.
I say, I know you`re there, so don`t be sad.
Then I put him back, but he`s singing a little
in there, I haven`t quite let him die, and we sleep
together like that with our secret pact…”
Charles Bukowski
_______
“Haven`t seen the sun in weeks
My skin is getting pale
Haven`t got a mind left to speak
and I`m skinny as a rail,
light bulbs are getting thin
My interest is starting to wane
I`m told it`s everything a man could want
and I shouldn`t complain
Conversation`s getting dull
there`s a constant buzzing in my ears
sense of humor`s going numb
and I`M BORED TO TEARS”
Jack White  with the Raconteurs
_______
I`d rather stuff a LIVE stick of dynamite
up my ass than watch even 2 minutes of Japanese television…
I`d rather listen to Justin fucking Bieber for one HOUR
than listen to even one MINUTE of terrible J-Pop `music.`
_______
“All you touch and all you see,
is all your life will ever be……”
Pink Floyd
_______
“…the great ocean of the middle of marriage; the home shore had disappeared from sight, and
what had appeared as infinite promise became instead terrifying endlessness, a lonely, crushing
isolation of two selves in the world.”
Rajesh Parameswaran
“I Am Executioner; Love Stories”
_______
It`s a goddamned philosophical absurdity: We spend our lives chasing little pieces of paper called `money` and then
we end up rotting in the fucking ground in a grave that we most likely had to PAY for…what a damned waste of time…
_______
“Does suffering in one precinct of the cosmos alleviate the burden elsewhere?  Is there a single Almighty, or rather a
multitude thereof, each working in mad isolation on his own dubious project?  This chronicle exists under lock in the
ship`s binnacle, and also in the minds of a thousand doppelgängers, whose more fortunate destinies exist, unwritten,
in the recesses of my own internal seascape.  Momentarily, we pull again for shore.”
David Hollander
“The Naming of the Islands”   from  “McSweeney`s 25”
______
富夢 This is my first name in Japanese, in the kanji characters that I picked.  To mu…the first one means `rich`, the second means `dream.`
rich dream
______
“I had not been to the amusement park for two years.  I had dreamed of it all that tense, enigmatic summer, when the world seemed hushed and expectant,
as if on the verge of revealing an overwhelming secret.  Inside the penny arcade I saw at once that the darkness was not dark enough.  Among the mysterious
ringing of bells, the clanks, the metallic whirrings, I could hear the bright, prancing, secretly mournful music of the merry-go-round and the cries and clatter of
the distant roller-coaster.
*   *   *
All at once I understood the secret of the penny arcade.  I understood with the force of an inner blow that the creatures of the penny arcade had lost their freedom
under the constricting gaze of all those who no longer believed in them.  Their majesty and mystery had been crushed down by the shrewd oppressive eyes of
countless visitors who looked at them without seeing their fertile inner nature.  Gradually worn down into a parody of themselves, restricted to three or four
preposterous wooden gestures, they yet contained within themselves the life that had once been theirs.  Under the nourishing gaze of one who understood them,
they might still spring into a semblance of their former selves.  I recognized that I myself had become part of this conspiracy of dullness, and that only in a
moment of lavish awareness, which had left me confused and exhausted, had I seen truly.  I had betrayed them.  I saw that I was in danger of becoming 
ordinary, and I understood that from now on I would have to be vigilant.
Turning decisively, I walked toward the entrance and stepped into the dazzle of a perfect August afternoon.  Shaking my head as if to clear it of shadows, I
prepared myself to greet the simple pleasures of the sun.”
Steven Millhauser
“In the Penny Arcade”
(to get the full, bigger picture of the meaning of this, I suggest you refer to the aforementioned story that I sent many of you a few months back….excellent stuff…)
_______
“Until we turn on a radio in a New York City hotel room and hear Elvis singing “Heartbreak Hotel,” we are seldom
struck by the peculiarity of our situation; that a dead man sings.”
“Time moves in one direction, memory in another.”
“THE FUTURE`S ALREADY HERE:
IT`S JUST NOT EVENLY DISTRIBUTED.”
William Gibson
_______
“You can`t name a bridge after Chuck Norris because…
NOBODY crosses Chuck Norris.”
Saturday Night Live
_______
“American Idol: 2012” in Japan….LAST CHANCE THEATER…they are clowns; for some reason I wish evil thoughts upon them…
_______
“If you`ve seen one temple, you`ve seen `em all.”
Jay Bearden     Tokyo  February, 2012
( VERY often true, JB, but there are, perhaps, a few exceptions to this rule…see attached photos…this is Nunobikikannon in Komoro…up in a green bamboo forest….SURREAL)
_______
3/7/12
On going to Jusco shopping mall in Ueda, I understand why everyone was SO excited about the opening of the newer shopping mall, ARIO.
It has to be the most exciting thing to happen to this town in 20 fucking years…
_______
PEOPLE ON TREADMILLS ARE GOING NOWHERE…
(why in the hell would you want to walk on a treadmill in a stinky gym on a picture-perfect beautiful day when you can actually GO OUTSIDE AND WALK?!?  I just don`t get it!)
_______
“Tom is walking dictionary.”
Aki ( one of my funniest English students at Nissin-Kogyo factory, the people that make brake parts for Honda…)
_______
“To be successful, apparently, is to be chronically busy.”
William Gibson
_______
Go to Google Images and check out Greg Girard; Phantom Shanghai City of Darkness…..DO IT….
_______
“Hell is other people.”
Jean-Paul Sartre (The ultimate misanthropic quote…)  {sometimes it`s true, sometimes it`s not…}
_______
“For like all artists, they live so profoundly in illusion
that gradually their lives grow illusory.”
Steven Millhauser
“Cathay”
_______
“I`d like to jam a live codfish up your ass, Vera!”
Charles Bukowski
_______
Miyota: Around here, I`m finished with EVERYTHING involving ANYTHING…
_______
On moving to Tokyo instead of Ueda; why go only halfway when I can go all the way?
_______
“A book is a dream machine.  Its purpose is to take you out of the world.”
Steven Millhauser
_______
3/11/12
Sure signs of spring;  Big clumps of wet, melting snow falling off the eaves of roofs with a
sound like fffffffoooooooommmmppppppffffff.  The drip drip of water everywhere.  A black
spider crawling rapidly across the ice….
_______
“I DO NOT WRITE TO KILL TIME,
NOR TO REVIVE IT.
I WRITE THAT I MAY LIVE
AND BE REVIVED.”
Octavio Paz
_______
“Beside the Dying Fire…”
_______
“We have whiskey, wine, women, song, and slot machines.  I won`t deny it and I won`t apologize for it.
If the majority of the people didn`t want them they wouldn`t be profitable and wouldn`t exist.  The fact
that they DO exist proves to me that people want them.”
Enoch “Nucky” Johnson
during Prohibition in the 1920s….
_______
“First rule of politics:  Never let `the truth` get in the way of a good story.”
“Boardwalk Empire”
_______
“Yo mama so ugly, I took her to the zoo and the zookeeper came over and thanked me for bringing her back.”
_______
WHAT`S THE POINT IN GETTING USED TO ANYTHING?
EVERYTHING CHANGES ANYWAY…
_______
“If a book could be judged by its cover, you`d be a bestseller.”
`Boyd Crowder`
“Well, I`d like to think that if I was behind an attempt on your life,
at the very least, I would`ve messed up your hair.”
`Boyd Crowder`
Boyd  “You asking me?  Or are you tellin` me?”
Raylan “If it makes you feel better, you can tell people I asked.”
Raylan Givens  “I`ve been to Mexico and I don`t think you`d like it.”
Boyd  “How so?”
Raylan  “There`s A LOT of Mexicans.”
All from the excellent AMERICAN TV show, “Justified”
_______
NO DIRECTION HOME
_______
“I saw a newborn baby
with wild wolves all around it,
I saw a highway of diamonds
with nobody on it.”
Bob Dylan
“A Hard Rain`s Gonna Fall”
_______
IDLENESS NUMBS THE MIND
_______
TOO MUCH OF EVERYTHING IS NEVER ENOUGH.
_______
“My music is for anyone who`s ever been shot or hit by a train.”
Hanni El Khatib
“You Rascal You”  (YouTube it…)
_______
when did YouTube and Google become verbs?
_______
Vernal Equinox   (shunbun no hi)
_______
ALWAYS ON THE ROAD BUT
NEVER ARRIVING AT THE DESTINATION…
_______
is that such a bad thing?
_______
NO
_______
3/22/12
I`ve been studying Japanese katakana characters for almost 4 fucking hours.  They ALL look the SAME!!
I could make up my own goddamned written language easier than this shit!
_______
Goddamnit!  The whole house smells like those stinky radishes they like to eat!
_______
Band names like “Funky Monkey Babies” and “Bump of Chicken”….HA!
You know I`d rather put a gun in my mouth than listen to even 30 seconds of that CRAP…
_______
“The only thing worse than not getting what you want is someone else getting it.”
`Roger Sterling”
“Mad Men”
_______
On my MAC computer, to listen to the computer voice, HIGHLIGHT the text you want to hear, then
push OPTION plus ESCAPE……….FASCINATING….
(It`s REALLY funny with the above `stinky radishes` line!)                                                               * * * * * * * * *
_______
“The shadows of the smallest stones lay like pencil lines across the sand and the shapes of the men and their mounts elongate before
them like strands of the night from which they`d ridden, like tentacles to bind them to the darkness yet to come.”
Cormac McCarthy
“Blood Meridian–
The Evening Redness in the West”
_______
…she had a tramp-stamp right over her pussy that said, “eat out more often”
_______
“All progressions from a higher to a lower order are marked by ruins and mystery and a residue of nameless rage.
So.  Here are the dead fathers.  Their spirit is entombed in the stone.  It lies upon the land with the same weight and
the same ubiquity.”
“For whoever makes a shelter of reeds and hides has joined his spirit to the common destiny of creatures and he will subside
back into the mud with scarcely a cry.  But who builds in stone seeks to alter the structure of the universe and so it was with
these masons however primitive their works may seem to us.”
“THE LAST OF THE TRUE…”
Cormac McCarthy
“Blood Meridian”
_______
Funny names…
Iggy Blamptonshire
Rufus Greevenheimer
Drago Vaclav (actually, this one is kind of cool….)
_______
“Take it.  It`s your lucky coin.
Anything can be an instrument.  Small things.  Things you wouldn`t even notice.  They pass from hand to hand.  People don`t
pay attention.  And then one day there`s an accounting.  And after that nothing is the same.”
`Anton Chigurh`
in Cormac McCarthy`s book, “No Country For Old Men”
_______
Carla Jean    ” `The coin didn`t have no say.  It was just you.`
Chigurh  `Perhaps.  But look at it my way.  I got here the same way the coin did.  For things at a common destination there is
a common path.  Not always easy to see.  But there.`
Carla Jean  `Everything I ever thought has turned out different.  There ain`t the least part of my life I could`ve guessed.  Not this.
None of it.`
Chigurh  `I had no say in the matter.  Every moment of your life is a turning and every one a choosing.  Somewhere you made a
choice.  All followed to this.  The accounting is scrupulous.  The shape is drawn.  No line can be erased.  I had no belief in your
ability to move a coin to your bidding.  How could you?  A person`s path through the world seldom changes and even more seldom
will it change abruptly.  And the shape of your path was visible from the beginning.  You`re asking that I make myself vulnerable
and that I can never do.  I have only one way to live.  It doesn`t allow for special cases.  A coin toss perhaps.  In this case to
small purpose.  Most people don`t believe that there can be such a person.  You can see what a problem that must be for them.
How to prevail over that which you refuse to acknowledge the existence of.  Do you understand?  When I came into your life, your
life was over.  It had a beginning, a middle, and an end.  This is the end.  You can say that things could have turned out differently.
That they could have been some other way.  But what does that mean?  They are not some other way.  They are this way.  You`re
asking that I second say the world.  And this cannot be.`
Then he shot her.”
Cormac McCarthy
“No Country For Old Men”
________
“The one good thing about old age–it don`t last long…”
“Justified”
________
“There is only one god and his name is Death,
and there is only one thing we say to him; `NOT TODAY.` “
“Game of Thrones”
________
Seriously;  I die a little bit inside every day that I don`t get MEXICAN FOOD…
________
From here on out, I shall call Japanese rednecks…….YELLOWNECKS….
________
“Love makes us vulnerable, but it also makes us human, I suppose…”
“Fringe”
________
“No evil has ever been eliminated by suppressing its symptoms.  We need to address the cause itself.
We have to descend to the very bottom of the well before we can see the stars.”
Vaclav Havel
“Politics and Conscience”
________
Google     Johnny Flynn Dusty Fingers     and watch it on YouTube….   (good music…no video…..who cares?)
________
“He doesn`t care about anything.  He`s a nihilist.”
The Dude  “Oh, that must be exhausting.”
THE DUDE ABIDES…
 
“The Big Lebowski”
________
“Do you believe the actor on the stage is really a villain?  If he isn`t a villain, then is he a liar?”
Ad man `Harwinton`   from the book “Martin Dressler” by Steven Millhauser
________
“Imagine two stones; gray, smooth, flattish: small enough to hold comfortably in your hand.  There is nothing interesting about these stones.
Now imagine I single out one of them.  Either one will do.  I describe the pleasing feel of the stone in my hand.  I compare its color to the color
of an exotic animal.  I admire its remarkable shape.  I say this stone fills me with well-being and confidence.  Then I tell you that you may have
either of the stones.  Which are you more likely to choose?  That`sadvertising.  But suppose one stone is really superior to the other.  That`s
an interesting fact, it may even be a useful fact, a fact that we can use.  But it has nothing to do with the art of advertising.”
Steven Millhauser  ( `Harwinton` again…)
________
“For what struck him was the terrible restlessness of the city, its desire to overthrow itself, to smash itself to bits and
burst into new forms.  The city was a fever-patient in a hospital, thrashing in its sleep, erupting in modern dreams.”
Steven Millhauser
________
“Even as the new building rose story by story, it was already vanishing, the trajectory of the wrecker`s ball had already
been set in motion as the blade of the first bulldozer bit the earth.”
Steven Millhauser
“Martin Dressler”
(This book is about the cruel and deceptive optimism of `the American Dream,` subsequently followed by its failure;
to build a castle in the air and watch it dissolve before your eyes….)
________
LABYRINTH   (it is in ALL our minds)
________
WE JUST COULDN`T LEAVE
WELL ENOUGH ALONE
________
“The best journeys answer questions that in the beginning, you didn`t even think to ask.”
Jeff Johnson
“180 Degrees South”
________
“You can`t just keep trying to make a flawed system work.”
“The hardest thing in the world is to simplify your life.  It`s so easy to make it complex.”
Yvon Chouinard
“180 Degrees South”
________
“Men do not learn very much from the lessons of history and THAT is the MOST IMPORTANT lesson of history.”
Aldous Huxley
________
“180 Degrees South” :  A great movie where they talk about simplifying our lives, yet the irony is the movie itself was, of course,
made with color film, digital technology, computers, …..whatever……point being; face it people, I`m afraid we may have come too
far to go back now.  What we are and the world we`ve created (or rather MUTATED from what the natural world once was) have
become hopelessly entangled and completely inseparable–melded into a singular entity, the halves of which are now
simply ONE AND THE SAME…
________
I really did like the movie, though….
________
“Travel is flight and pursuit in equal parts.”
Paul Theroux
________
THEY SAY “HOME IS WHERE THE HEART IS,”
BUT MY HEART IS ALWAYS WANDERING….
________
“The only constant is change.”
A Buddhist Saying
________
“…and he wonders if it is worth hoping for a future when there is no future, and from now on,
he tells himself, he will stop hoping for anything and live only for now, this moment, this
passing moment, the now that is here and then not here, the now that is gone forever.”
Paul Auster
“Sunset Park”
________
“The strangeness of being alive…”
Paul Auster
________
Land of Perpetual Gloom
________
“Hey, what`s going on here?  Are you talking to my client ALONE?  Sneaky….
you Sneaky Pete……What, did they hire you right out of the WOMB?!?  Alright…
out, OUT!!  Go get yourself a juice box, take a nap, whatever…”
`Saul Goodman`  (the funniest lawyer character EVER talking to a REALLY young-looking, skinny cop…)
“Breaking Bad”
________
5/1/12  3am   (Chiharu and I are going to Shizuoka Prefecture, a peninsula about 6 hours to the SOUTH…)
I`m never more ALIVE than when I`m leaving at the crack of dawn to travel somewhere or go on an adventure–WIDE AWAKE–
EYES WIDE OPEN–however you want to put it………Drivin` South!!
to Yamanashi Prefecture and then into Shizuoka…..as usual, NO MAPS!!
I felt like I was going to see a fox this morning for some reason and I did…
{ My slogan for TOTO TOILETS in Japan:  TOTO; BECAUSE SHITTING WHERE YOU EAT IS ALWAYS A BAD DECISION }
Indeed, selling toilets is a reliable business that will NEVER go down the shitter…..HA!!
Denny`s SUCKS ASS in Japan….I mean, no GRAND SLAM BREAKFASTS?!?  WTF?  wet eggs, only one piece of soggy bacon,
one miniature hot dog that they call `sausage` (they have NO IDEA what sausage is in this country), and NO ORANGE JUICE.
No orange juice with breakfast is like a baby without a titty.  So I took a dump in their bathroom and we were OUTTA there….we went to McDonald`s…(at least THAT`S the same…)
Route 17 in Shizuoka, Kirameki Hill, Nishiizu Trail, Suruga Bay….
Route 136 to Izu City
Back the same way to a peaceful pine forest right on the ocean off of Route 414…
Stayed in a little minshuku (Japanese Traditional Inn) in the town of Awashima on May 1st….
Ahhhh, BEER after 16 hours of driving….what a maniac, to drive that long….
ONLY US in the minshuku…..PRIVATE ….peace and quiet over the ocean….(AND it`s a Japanese HOLIDAY called `Golden Week`…this is unprecedented! Usually places are MOBBED for holidays over here…)
And a 20-minute massage from Chiharu made my day….GOOD NIGHT….
5/2/12  Up again at 4am…driving 414 and 136 through the mountains to the sea again to go AROUND the peninsula.  Stopped at a beautiful waterfall called Joren no Taki (15 meters high)….ALL THIS BEFORE 6am…(the ONLY WAY to avoid the riffraff)
I saw a big, black raven WALKING up the stairs from the waterfall even though he could`ve flown….interesting….
Even though we wanted sunshine for this trip (of course), the rain is a blessing in disguise…..NO CROWDS ANYWHERE….
135 through Shimoda and then route 16 around Cape Iro and back to 136 to 119 to Nishiizu…..
Hagachizaki Beach—the sea monkeys come here to watch humans…
Dogashima…..amazing rock islands…(see attachment)
Remember YLEM?  Of course you do…..well, this is the funniest gas station name ever…KYGNUS…Chiharu and I yelled it out the window every time we saw one……KYGNUS!!  
 
5/2/12  Wednesday….even during this holiday week, Chiharu and I stayed at a DIFFERENT minshuku, again with an ocean view and totally alone….PRIVATE….AMAZING LUCK…..
We really liked Awashima at the quiet edge of a bigger city called Numazu City…
McDonald`s Breakfasts, 7-11 and Family Mart picnic lunches, and hamachi (yellowtail) and tempura shrimp dinners at a restaurant called Yamaya…..
Another 14 hours of driving all around the peninsula.  We got back to the Inn (Nakaya Minshuku)  at 6:30pm for happy hour….BEER TIME…. pure exhaustion….asleep by 10pm.  What an EPIC journey….
It has been raining the WHOLE time this trip, but somehow, it just doesn`t matter…
The only problem is when it is clear, we would have had an incredible view of Mount Fuji, but we never saw it the whole trip…
The rainstorms scared away the regular mobs of tourists….some really heavy rains but we drove through it all anyway….nothing stops me….NOTHING….
5/3/12  Thursday….on the road towards home by 8:30am…
(the road to Shizuoka: 141 to Yamanashi; 52 to Shizuoka shoreline; left on 1 to 414 and make a right….)  For future reference….I DID IT ALL WITHOUT MAPS….
Home in Miyota by 5pm….
What a trip…too busy to write anything but notes but I took A LOT of PHOTOS….
_________
My new YouTube slideshow of Shizuoka is called Emerald and Azure with music by Cheb I Sabbah called Shri Durga.  Durga means INVINCIBLE in Sanskrit….
_________
“The turning of a page is such a beautiful sound.”
Steven Millhauser
_________
“Our life is what our thoughts make it.”
Marcus Aurelius
_________
“MY NAME IS TUCKER MAX, and I am an asshole.
I get excessively drunk at inappropriate times, disregard social norms,
indulge every whim, ignore the consequences of my actions, mock idiots
and posers, sleep with more women than is safe or reasonable, and just
generally act like a raging dickhead.
But, I do contribute to humanity in one very important way.  I share my
adventures with the world.  They are known as…
THE TUCKER MAX STORIES…”
some of his book titles:
Assholes Finish First
Sloppy Seconds
I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell
” `Hey man, what gives YOU the right to keep us awake?`
`BECAUSE I HAVE A BULLHORN AND YOU DO NOT!  YOUR FANCY
BOOK-LEARNIN` SHOULD`VE TAUGHT YOU THAT THE STRONG DO
WHAT THEY WANT AND THE WEAK ENDURE WHAT THEY MUST!
NOW, BRING ME YOUR FINEST MEATS AND CHEESES, AND BE
QUICK ABOUT IT!` “
Tucker Max
(torturing nerds at some kind of university campout function…)
________
“Look at them–
They`re swine, and I supply them with troughs.”
Steven Millhauser
“August Eschenberg”
_________
“All words are masks, and the lovelier they are, the more they are meant to conceal.”
Millhauser
_________
The restaurant in Ueda that was called “POO” is gone.  Perhaps it was the name
that turned people off.  It`s ok, it was CRAP anyway……HA!!  The Japanese word for shit is `unchi` .
I learn ALL the most important stuff, you know it….
_________
“We may doubt the museum, but we do not doubt our need to return.  For we are restless, already we are impatient to move
through the beckoning doorways, which lead to rooms with other doorways that give dark glimpses of distant rooms, distant
doorways, unimaginable discoveries.  And is it possible that the secret of the museum is precisely here, in its knowledge that
we can never be satisfied?”
Millhauser
“The Barnum Museum”
_________
Walking through the train station, trying to decipher all this writing and all the photos of unknown places that I can`t figure
out because they are in Kanji.  Damnit!  I wish I could understand this gibberish!
_________
5/9/12
Here it is…….43 years old.  Where does the time go?!  And two days from now, I get to GIVE the DOCTOR a PRESENT…
Actually, since we are a day ahead over here in this ass-backwards country, TOMORROW will be my birthday in America…
whatever.  I stopped caring anyway when I hit 21.  So many people make the colossal mistake of taking this crazy life seriously.
I will NEVER make that mistake because I KNOW that life is just a beautiful and intricate joke.  Happy Birthday to me…..scumbag….
_________
5/10/12
Tomorrow, I am being forced by the Japanese immigration department to go for a physical checkup.  They`re gonna give me
a big runaround and here`s the highlight…..they want a SHIT SAMPLE.  Yeah, the doctor is gonna sift around through my dung
looking for …..WHAT?!?   Irregularities?  It`s all just crap to me…..this is fucking ridiculous…I don`t even want to think about it…
_________
The part of the brain connected with emotions, sound, and smell and then associating these things with specific memories is
called the HIPPOCAMPUS….neurons and such, known as `relational memory.`
_________
5/11/12
FUNNIEST DOCTOR CHECK-UP EVER!
(Perhaps I should not have finished the last 1/3rd of that bottle of Wild Turkey the night before the check-up, because it sent my liver results through the roof…)
First, I got to wear tiny, lime-green slippers.  Then I walk, or I should say shuffle awkwardly, from room to room and test to test and I have no idea what anyone
is saying.  It`s ALL gibberish.  I just nod and say `domo` a lot.  I give them my shit and piss samples, thinking, `yeah, take THAT, fucker, GET IN THERE and
DIG through my feces!`  They poke and probe me, they listen to my breathing; unfortunately, the one sexy nurse did NOT check my balls for me.  Well, you can`t
have everything.  She did take my shirt off though, but that does ME no good!  They take my blood pressure, real low as usual.  No heart attacks yet.  They
measure my weight and height (had to stand on a chair to do it).  They check my waist, not too fat, still skinny.  Then they steal 3 big tubes of my blood and then…..
then was the FINALE…..the LAST TEST.  It was some kind of stomach X-ray…..IN A BUS, no less.  A BUS IN THE PARKING LOT.  Don`t ask me why, `cause I don`t
fucking know.  I put on some hospital-green skivvies and they make me drink some viscous, disgustingly NASTY drink that is supposed to give me gas, but I`m
NOT ALLOWED to burp….NOT YET, anyway.  This is hysterical.  Then they put me on this movable X-ray machine that is twisting and turning me every which
way like some kind of nightmare funhouse ride while I`m holding my breath so as not to burp and trying unsuccessfully to keep from laughing as they`re screaming
nonsense over an intercom from the operational booth.  FUCKING RIDICULOUS.  Seriously.  So I come CRASHING out of THE BUS after it`s over cackling like a
madman and startling the hell out of some old ladies.  And to top it all off, the stuff they forced me to drink before the X-ray gave me pasty-white, crack-fiend lips that I
would`ve walked around with all day if Chiharu hadn`t told me.  Honestly, people–YOU JUST CAN`T MAKE THIS SHIT UP.  PRICELESS.  And like I always say, I don`t
need some Jap doctor, pardon me, ANY DOCTOR, to tell me that someday I`m gonna die.  You see, the thing is, I ALREADY FUCKING KNOW THAT!
I diagnosed myself many, MANY years ago……………….crazy little bastards…..
_________
I`M GOIN` OUT IN A BLAZE OF GLORY!
________
A couple days later…..solo in the car….
Iizunayama Park in Komoro….beautiful….take Chiharu here for a picnic sometime soon….
Sanada Mansion Ruins on Route 35 between Sugadaira and Ueda….
Next YouTube video title will be Mystic in the Ruins.
________
“Funny how words can be so open to interpretation.”
“Breaking Bad”
`Hitman Mike`
_________
MYSTIC  (noun)— a person who seeks by contemplation to obtain unity with “god,”
the absolute, or the universe itself; one who believes in the apprehension of spiritual
truths that are beyond the intellect.
_________
“Stories, like conjuring tricks, are invented because history is inadequate to our dreams.”
Steven Millhauser
“Eisenheim the Illusionist”
________
” `God` made us in His image.
If that is so, if we are capable
of being gods, then it is our
destiny to do so.”
“Fringe”
`William Bell` (Leonard Nimoy)
________
“He walks on his own,
with thoughts he can`t help thinking…”
Pearl Jam
“Nothingman”
________
WHAT PART OF
SHUT THE FUCK UP
DON`T YOU UNDERSTAND?!?
________
funny words that are actually in the dictionary…
bamboozle
ballyhoo
_________
I just love Chiharu`s eyebrows….don`t ask me why….I just do…
She`s got CHARACTER….
_________
TOWER OF BABBLE
_________
“When you`re looking for hot water, don`t be shocked
if you get burned a little bit…”
Jack White
“Catch Hell Blues”
_________
5/16 and 5/17   A business trip for my English School…..
Matsumoto City, here in Nagano Prefecture…
Stayed in room 927 at the Hotel Buena Vista (a SPANISH name?!?)
A nice place….
Had Chinese food with my boss, Akira Matsuo, AKA, `DJ`.  I ate delicious lemon chicken, won-ton soup and harumaki spring rolls…
Later, I went by myself to the top floor bar with a SPECTACULAR view and had a Bombay Sapphire Gin Martini. And you can SMOKE with your drink.  Rare nowadays in the USA…. The bar was called Sopresa
 
To quote a poster I saw on the streets later, “Welcome back to Japan, CHEHON YELLOWBADMAN”   Fucking CLASSIC….
Even after 5 beers and a martini, Matsumoto is quite a dead and boring city by night….a few hookers offering massages, some sorry-lookin` businessmen stumbling around and a LOT of empty streets.
On the other hand, Matsumoto Castle is fucking beautiful and lit up at night.  And there are some amazing old buildings by the river.  In the end, the best part of my night was sitting in my 9th floor room
having a nightcap and a smoke and getting to bed by 1am….
Breakfast buffet…..in the bar/restaurant on the top floor with the great view.  Not bad, not bad at all….
_________
“I don`t know who I am anymore.  It`s all fun and games until someone loses an `I`. “
Don Winslow
“Savages”
_________
5/17/12
Nissin-Kogyo factory…had an excellent Japanese conversation with a funny character named Nakamura-san (Takaki?).  My best speaking and listening yet.
When all else fails, wave your arms around and pound your chest like a monkey…
________
Met a really cool Japanese dude who calls himself `Tosh` at Shigeno Station.  He had an LA ACCENT.  Seriously.  He lived in Pasadena for 26 years; came back here for two years and will return to LA.  He surprised the hell outta me…
________
You know, I have spoken A LOT of Japanese the last couple days…not perfect, but speaking anyway.  Better than nothing….(nai yori wamashi)
________
In Japan, when SNACK is written on a sign in a red-light district, IT HAS A WHOLE DIFFERENT MEANING.  It means PUSSY SNACK……seriously.  They don`t even HAVE potato chips….
________
a playboy (nanpa)
________
“You cannot travel the path before you have become the path itself.”
Buddha
________
“You go away for a long time and return a different person–
you never come all the way back.”
Paul Theroux
“Dark Star Safari”
________
“No one has ever described the place where I have just arrived:
This is the emotion that makes me want to travel.  It is one of
the greatest reasons to go anywhere.”
Paul Theroux
“Pillars of Hercules”
________
“FOR ME THE BEST SORT OF TRAVEL ALWAYS INVOLVES A DEGREE OF TRESPASS.  THE
RISK IS BOTH A CHALLENGE AND AN INVITATION.  Selling adventure seems to be a theme in
the travel industry, and trips have become trophies.”
Paul Theroux
“Fresh Air Fiend”
We TOTALLY agree on this……I do it all the time…..I`m a chronic trespasser…..I do it in Japan too…
________
“A train isn`t a vehicle.  A train is part of the country.  It`s a place.”
Paul Theroux
“Riding the Iron Rooster”
________
Monday 5/21/12  at about 7:20am to 7:40am…..TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE SUN
_________
“That night, as I lay wondering whether I would get sleep or explosion, I got the idea instead.  A man who
couldn`t make things go right could at least go.  He could quit trying to get out of the way of life.  Chuck
routine.  Live the real jeopardy of circumstance.  It was a question of dignity.”
William Least Heat-Moon
“Blue Highways”
________
“In traveling, a man must carry knowledge with him, if he would bring home knowledge.”
Samuel Johnson
________
The Art of walking or sauntering…
the pilgrimage…..
” Solvitur ambulando 
“It is solved by walking.”
St. Augustine
________
Mr. Nobody, the Belgian-made film starring Jared Leto, is a beautifully made, artistic movie about the choices we make
in life, and the possibilities of each choice that still exist outside of `time.`  It is about the multiverse, I suppose. What COULD have been……
Perhaps it is a little slow, but for some reason, it really moved me.  I saw it on YouTube of all places.  Check it out (if you want; or don`t…)
________
5/28/12
At Ueda Station, I saw a pixie-like Japanese girl of about 17 years old.  She was wearing a tracksuit of pink and blue and she had dyed
reddish-orange hair of a weird color that only the Japanese manage to get their hair in.  Her hair was short with a fuzzy, brittle little top knot
toward the front.  While talking on her cellphone, she suddenly and unexpectedly kicked over a trashcan with a CRASH, and then ANOTHER
one. I don`t think it was anger.  It was childish rebellion, malicious intent, vandalism, just to see if she could get away with it.  Not that I could
ever judge THAT!  No problem for me.  I just couldn`t believe it, that`s all.  I`ve NEVER seen anything like that here.  And the strangest
thing of all was that EVERYONE, young and old, pretended they didn`t see it.  Not a word.  Complete ignorance, as if nothing unusual at
all had happened.  Weird.  I was laughing my ass off, of course, I WAS THE EXCEPTION TO THE RULE.
Later, across from me on the train sat a TALL girl, maybe 5 foot 11….HUGE by Japanese woman standards, or ANY Japanese person, for
that matter.  She had the SADDEST face I`ve ever seen….ULTRA DEPRESSION.  I was afraid she was gonna kill herself any minute right
there in front of me.  I mean, I was ready to grab the knife away from her.  She looked like a character in Japanese Anime; black jeans,
a billowy-white blouse with long sleeves, black, over-sized boots, strange hair and melancholy eyes….a walking tragedy waiting to happen.
I almost wanted to give her a hug and tell her everything was gonna be alright, but she kind of scared me…..
Is it a fucking full moon or something?  No, I would have noticed……WEIRD night….
________
5/29/12
ANOTHER earthquake at 1:30am…..(maybe THAT was why there were so many weird vibes earlier tonight….EARTHQUAKE BEHAVIOR….)
There goes my sleep…..The MACALLAN….it`ll cure what ails ya….
________
I fucking HATE learning this GODDAMNED JAPANESE LANGUAGE!!  It is SO frustrating, you have NO IDEA!  It doesn`t make any
sense!  It causes Chiharu and I to argue because she gets impatient and I get irritated.  You`ve never seen so many notebooks flying
out a window onto the grass (of course, that`s HER; I just go get a beer and have a smoke)
________
Dead Man directed by Jim Jarmusch, is a hell of an interesting movie…
________
“Half of what I say is meaningless, but I say it so that the other half may reach you.”
Kahlil Gibran
“Sand and Foam”
________
“I have always lived violently, drunk hugely, eaten too much or not at all, slept around the clock
or missed two nights of sleeping, worked too hard and too long in glory, or slobbed for a time in
utter laziness.  I`ve lifted, pulled, chopped, climbed, made love with joy and taken my hangovers
as a consequence and not as a punishment.”
John Steinbeck
(Got this one in an e-mail from Ronnie McCawley on 5/31/12……thanks, brother……good one….)
________
“I`ll see it when I believe it.”
Paul Auster
“The Brooklyn Follies”
________
It`s funny how when you put the i-Pod on shuffle, it seems to know just what to play.  Coming home
on the train, I heard In the Evening by Led Zeppelin.  Then, when I got off to walk home, it played
Blue Moon of Kentucky by Patsy Cline under an indigo twilight sky, the last of the light.  My mood
was lifted up, and then it played Skip James` I`m So Glad.  Nice.  I always disparaged i-Pods in the
past, but again, I`m gonna have to change my tune.  I just love music……
________
日 sun
月 moon
土 soil, earth
川 river
田 rice field
山 mountain
火 fire
水 water
木 tree
金 money, gold
and there`s your basic lesson of the easiest of Kanji characters….(you should SEE the difficult ones!  This is NOTHING!!)
________
一 1    ichi
二 2    ni
三 3    san
四 4    yon
五 5    go
六 6    roku
七 7    nana or shichi
八 8    hachi
九 9    kyu or ku
十 10  ju
Trust me, that`s all the numbers you want to know….
________
Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai
Coffee and Cigarettes
 
I like this Jarmusch character; different, to say the least….
________
I GO WHERE 
THE PATH
LEADS ME
_____
 
“HAGAKURE (HIDDEN BY LEAVES)  The Way of the Samurai:
“Even if it seems certain you will lose, retaliate.  Neither wisdom nor technique has a place in this.  A real man
does not think of victory or defeat.  He plunges recklessly towards an irrational death.  By doing this, you will
awaken from your dreams.”
_______
“Nothing is original.  Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination.  Devour
old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture,
bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows.  Select only things that speak directly
to your soul.  If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic.  Authenticity is invaluable, originality is
nonexistent.  And don`t bother concealing your thievery–celebrate it if you feel like it.  In any case, always
remember what Jean-Luc Godard said: `It`s not where you take things from–it`s where you take them to.` “
Jim Jarmusch
_______
6/2/12  4:20am
Up and OUT on one of my EPIC skateboard rides……magic, baby……MAGIC…
The air smells like rain and fragrant flowers…
My YouTube slideshows from today will be called Reflections and Poetry in Motion…
 
7am….first time in misty Karuizawa since last summer….
9am….the sun is OUT….
12 noon….skateboarding home to Miyota through the mountains….about 8 to 10 miles UP and DOWN hills….not easy….I`m out of shape from my winter hibernation….
That`s right, in the winter, I`M A DIRTY BEAR TOO, (Jonny…..you heard me….not as dirty as YOU, though….well, maybe; I don`t know anymore…)
Subway Sanwich in Japan….1400¥……HA!  what a fucking ripoff!  That`s about $15.50 and it`s STILL less food than you would get in America for $7.99.  I make better sandwiches at home anyway….
But I still ate at Subway….fuck it….
On the way home, I found a nice, new spot to walk in Miyota; a lovely broad canal bordered by trees and just a few houses.  I`ve never seen this before.  I`ll bring Chiharu here sometime soon….
Home by 1pm.  I`ve already had a 9-hour-day……
________
Take my advice: Google it,YouTube it, whatever…       Tom Waits “Chocolate Jesus” on Letterman Show          It is fucking excellent; kind of a performance art piece with a megaphone….
________
YouTube          The Jerky Boys; Safety Gates
“I don`t know…how many balloons does it take to
lift a 65 pound punk?”
`Frank Rizzo”
Also …..check out        The Jerky Boys Terrorist Pizza
________
JAPANESE IS SO DIFFICULT THAT
SOMETIMES, THEY DON`T EVEN
KNOW THEIR OWN LANGUAGE
________
and you think I`m exaggerating……oh………you…………..
________
A description of the voice of Tom Waits by a critic….
“…like it was soaked in a vat of bourbon, left hanging in the smokehouse
for a few months, and then taken outside and run over with a car.”
Daniel Durchholz
________
“Forgiveness is between them and god.  It`s my job to arrange the meeting.”
“Man on Fire”
Denzel Washington
_______
“You should NEVER underestimate the power of books.”
Paul Auster
“The Brooklyn Follies”
_______
6/6/12
Rest in Peace, Ray Bradbury….a slice of my youth has once again died (shortly after the untimely death of Beastie Boy, Adam Yauch,  MCA, {RIP funky brother} a couple months ago).
Ray, you stimulated my young and impressionable mind and sparked my imagination with brilliant and beautifully written stories that made me want to write as well…..
_______
MCA…..(in memory)
“…cause I got more rhymes
than Carl Sagan`s got turtlenecks…”
MCA
“Well, I`m walking on water
while you`re steppin` in shit…”
Mike D.
The Beastie Boys
______
My current photo obsession; rice fields filled with water (sui-den  水田)
______
So, I`m walking through a gorgeous rice field near Shigeno station and the i-Pod
plays Mr. Blue Sky by ELO.  Perfect.  Fucking Perfect.
Avoided the main roads and walked through the rice fields from Nissin-Kogyo all
the way to Nunobikikannon Temple…I AM A WALKING GPS, BABY!
______
“I heard the words of a poet who died in the gutter,
I heard the sounds of a clown who cried in the alley.”
Bob Dylan
” A Hard Rain`s Gonna Fall”
______
6:45pm Shigeno Station
“Heavenly shades of night are falling,
It`s Twilight Time”
The Platters
I fucking LOVE the i-Pod.
______
“I`M GONNA NEED A LITTLE MORE COWBELL.”
____
 
MY JOB AS AN ARTIST AND A WRITER
IS TO REARRANGE REALITY.
____
 
“One thing must be understood:
I have said nothing extraordinary or even surprising.
What is extraordinary begins at the moment I stop,
when I am no longer able to speak of it.”
Maurice Blanchot
______
” `When the dead weep, they are beginning to recover,` said the Crow solemnly.
`I am sorry to contradict my famous friend and colleague,` said the Owl, `but as
far as I`m concerned, I think that when the dead weep, it means they do not
want to die.` “
Carlo Collodi
“The Adventures of Pinnochio”
______
6/12/12
Went to Costco in Maebashi.  Stores this BIG scare me.  After an hour of wandering aimlessly
through the massive crowds, I had a sensory-overload-freakout.  I HAD TO GET OUTSIDE.
I did get some BIG-ASS jars of salsa though….(PACE picante sauce)
______
I had almost forgotten how much I love the movie,  Barfly……
 
 
 
” `Don`t you hate cops?`
Bukowski `No, but I seem to feel better when they`re not around.` “
” `Do you trust me?`
Buk  `Why not?  It`s easier that way.` “
” `See?  The angels are everywhere.`
Buk  `Good.  It`s time those fuckers came out of hiding.` “
” `Nothing but dumb luck, fucker!`
Buk  `Yeah, but that counts too…` “
” ` Don`t you ever change your underwear?`
Buk  (really sarcastic)  ` Sorry…`
`Don`t be sorry, just change your underwear…` “
Buk  ” `Hey, nobody who could ever write worth a damn could ever write in peace.`
 
` So, I take it you don`t like the way I live.`
Buk `Baby…look around–it`s a cage with golden bars.` “
PROFANE AND PROFOUND…..
_______
It is entirely too possible that man has created gods;
In fact, it is very likely.
Gods exist because so many of us believe in them.
They need us more than we need them.
We need to believe there is a reason for our existence…
_______
“I am a drinker with a writing problem.”
Brendan Behan
_______
“It`s not paranoia.
They`re really after you.”
_______
Google     dancing jesus       and watch the second result on YouTube that is 1 minute and 11 seconds…..
_______
I enjoyed the film 500 Days of Summer more on the second viewing….( I took pictures as a location scout for this flick )
_______
Rob Schneider in the Adam Sandler movie, “The Waterboy”
“YOU CAN DO IT!  CUT HIS FUCKING HEAD OFF!”
_______
“Here lies one whose name
was writ on water”
Inscribed on the grave of Keats  (Rome, Italy)
_______
6/20/12  Matsumoto again for another business trip….
As much as I love listening to the i-Pod, it does disconnect you from the immediate environment,
so I didn`t listen to it all day.
_______
“We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.”
T.S. Eliot
_______
“What was going to become of my life I didn`t know; but lying there that day by the sea,
it didn`t seem to matter much.  To be was enough.”
John Fowles
“The Magus”
_______
“Here at the frontier, there are falling leaves,
Although my neighbors are all barbarians,
and you, you are a thousand miles away,
there are always two cups on my table.”
A poem from the T`ang Dynasty
_______
“I walked beside her, in silence.  I said goodbye to her under a streetlamp.  By a garden full of lilac trees.
We did not touch.  Not a single word.  Two young faces, suddenly old, facing each other.  The moment
that endures when all other noises, objects, all that dull street, have sunk into dust and oblivion.  Two
white faces.  The scent of lilac.  And bottomless darkness.  And that is all.”
John Fowles
“The Magus”
_______
Funny t-shirts I want to make to piss off Jesus freaks:
GOD WAS HERE, BUT HE LEFT EARLY
 
I TRIED TO TALK TO GOD BUT HE 
DIDN`T SEEM TO BE LISTENING
 
I TALKED TO JESUS AND HE SAID THERE
ARE NO MORE ROOMS IN HIS FATHER`S HOUSE
 
I TALKED TO JESUS AND HE SAID THERE ARE ROOMS
IN HIS FATHER`S HOUSE, BUT YOU CAN`T HAVE ONE
 
(and the next one is my personal favorite…)
 
I TALKED TO GOD EARLIER AND HE SAID
HE`S NOT GONNA FORGIVE YOU…SCUMBAG
_______
“Long afterwards, I realized why some men, racing drivers and their like, become
addicted to speed.  There are those of us who never see death ahead, but eternally
behind: in any moment that stops and thinks.”
John Fowles
“The Magus”
_______
“All poems are occasional,
the products of circumstance.”
Goethe
_______
Chiharu`s latest nickname (She has MANY; I don`t have any idea where I come up with them….)  HIKIBIKI
_______
AS PERSONAL AS THESE STREET JOURNALS MAY BE,
MY LIFE IS NOW AN OPEN BOOK FOR ALL TO SEE.
THE ONLY MYSTERY LEFT IS HOW, WHEN AND WHERE
I WILL DIE…
_______
You don`t look for Chuck Norris…..He FINDS you….
_______
7/5/12
These Japanese doctors are telling me I have a cyst in my stomach or intestine.  I tried to tell
them it`s just from years of really SPICY food.  They`re trying to scare me into thinking I have cancer.
I`m TOO ANGRY TO DIE AND I`M HAVING TOO MUCH FUN.  They are wrong.
_______
Dawn
 
Cold rapid hands
draw back one by one
the bandages of dark
I open my eyes
still
I am living
at the center
of a wound still fresh”
Octavio Paz
_______
Last Dawn
 
Your hair is lost in the forest,
your feet touching mine.
Asleep you are bigger than the night,
but your dream fits within this room.
How much are we who are so little!
Outside a taxi passes
with its load of ghosts.
The river that runs by
            is always
running back.
Will tomorrow be another day?”
Octavio Paz
_______
“Better to live as a peasant,
breaking clods of dirt for a dog`s ration,
than to rule this pale nation of the dead.”
Octavio Paz
“A Draft of Shadows”
_______
“Once there were brook trout in the streams in the mountains.  You could see them standing in the amber current
where the white edges of their fins wimpled softly in the flow.  They smelled of moss in your hand.  Polished and
muscular and torsional.  On their backs were vermiculate patterns that were maps of the world in its becoming.
Maps and mazes.  Of a thing which could not be put back.  Not be made right again.  In the deep glens where
they lived all things were older than man and they hummed of mystery.”
Cormac McCarthy
“The Road”
_______
SWORD OF DAMOCLES
_______
“Time moves in one direction, memory in another.”
William Gibson  (Yeah, I KNOW I already wrote this….DON`T CARE…)
_______
7/10/12
Comedy show at Saku City Hospital as they check me, UNWILLINGLY, mind you, for cancer.  I have already put WAY TOO MANY drugs
and poisons in my body over the years that would surely kill any so-called `cancer` cells.  I`m walking around with an IV giving me who-knows-what
and then they give me some kind of shot and I have NO IDEA what is going on, as usual.  I`m just walking around, nervous, yet laughing to
myself.  Maybe that is my way of dealing with the creeping fear that has been FORCED upon me.  I have to say, the anesthesia they gave
me got me REALLY HIGH though…..
HA!  NO CANCER….like I fucking said!   I really dodged a bullet there…….I don`t ever want to see this fucking place again….(of course,
that is impossible; I have to come here every month for Chiharu`s sickness…)
________
I am still alive……feels GOOD…..
________
Alright, I have a cute new female student named FUKI……..I`m getting emotional…..
________
Life-affirming ADVENTURE  7/14/12  (from Miyota to Ueda…..about 16 miles through MOUNTAINS)
a haiku for you…
morning fields of mist
all night the rain was falling
mysterious dawn
As I skateboard through these wet and misty morning streets at 4:22am, however you say, `WHAT THE FUCK?!?` in Japanese; well, that`s what these farmers are thinking…
Met a Japanese dude named Naoki at Nunobikikannon temple.  He was from Chiba and we spoke Nihon-glish….
Zephyr The Water…….New YouTube videos….coming soon….
I`m just so happy to be alive on days like this…
Sometimes, it doesn`t matter WHY we`re alive or WHY we are here when you are JUST SIMPLY HAPPY
CICADAS
I was remembering what one of my students said about my YouTube videos; a very nice compliment…..
“I think a lot of Japanese people maybe don`t understand…you are an artist.”  Chihiro  (nicest compliment I`ve gotten in Japan)
Remember: at 43 years old, ANY marathon skateboard ride could be my last….
NOPE….NOT YET!!
More to come…
Unnojuku Edo Period Samurai Houses–I`ll bet this is the first time ANYONE has ever SKATEBOARDED down THIS street….!!!
I see EVERYTHING….
Liquid sustenance on the way; coffee, Red Bull, water, beer, water, beer, beer, WATER………………….
If you don`t know which way to go, just follow the river>>>>>>>>>>>>>all rivers go to the sea~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Mo`s Burger Brunch
took the train back UP the mountains……..WHAT A GREAT FUCKING DAY…..!!
15 or 16 miles up and down mountains and it took me 5 hours and 50 minutes (and that`s taking my sweet ass time; stopping for photos and beers etc….)  NOT BAD FOR AN OLD MAN….
4am to 9:50am on July 14, 2012.   HOME BY 12:30pm.
NOT ONE FALL…..NOT ONE.
And THAT`S HOW IT`S DONE!!!
________
“Memory: the space in which a thing happens for the second time.”
Paul Auster
________
“It was.  It will never be again.  Remember.”
Paul Auster
“The Book of Memory” from “The Invention of Solitude”
________
ALL GOOD THINGS MUST
EVENTUALLY COME TO AN END>>>>>>>>>
THB3

Leave a Reply

