I DON`T ASK FOR MUCH, BUT IF I WERE TO ASK…

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

…the whole earth would be cleaner

and food would be flown into me

from all over the planet

and cooked to gourmet perfection

by my personal celebrity chef.

I would sit outside the bungalow

on my rambling Hawaiian estate,

the one with the pool and the bar

and the palm trees and the ocean view.

I would travel the globe endlessly

sometimes

like James Bond

and other times

I would walk and slum it

like a hobo(with a pocketful of $$$).

War would end, of course,

people would quit their religions also

and finally see the faults

in all they’d been taught.

I would drink martinis

poolside

with graceful, exquisite

bikini-clad Asian girls

tanned and brown

lithe

with soft doe-like eyes

and hair like silky strands

of black velvet

shining in the sun.

I would get massages

and happy endings

and I would puff spliffs

and Cohiba cigars

and drink the Balvenie

while reading Octavio Paz.

I would swim laps

to keep cool and fit and ripped

and to fight off the beer belly

that I’d be sure to develop otherwise.

I’d crack another frosty Budweiser

and frolic in the pool with the girls

and then hit the jacuzzi at sunset.

Even agony would be beautiful

and happiness would permeate the air

like oxygen for the soul.

 

I would ride my

chopped hog around the island

at top speed

with my soft and delicate

Mayan princess on the back

and we’d head to the harbor front

and gorge ourselves

on enchiladas and margaritas

and watch the ships arrive

from exotic ports and faraway places.

I would sit alone

on lava cliffs

and read Bukowski

while watching sea water

explode from a blowhole

and drench me in tradewind gusts.

I would hold parties

in honor of no one and nothing

and then get drunk

and throw everyone out

in a delirium

and then bring them back

so I could do it all over again.

I would listen to

Jimi and Mick and Miles

and I’d see

shooting stars

and

dreams

and

neon nights

of fireflies

and night flowers blooming

and

warm love in the trees

and

the dance of eternal celebration

and

beautiful

black girls

with glowing walnut eyes

and afros like halos

about their shapely faces

and

blonde babes

with looks that kill

and long legs-

gorgeous women

speaking golden words

from ruby lips…

there would be no stopping me

or any of us

and doors would be thrown open

and dreams would be born

and wishes would come true

and love…

well, love would be everywhere,

lust

passion

sex

good scotch

surfing

joy…boundless joy…

vital living souls

with eyes of fire.

I would be stimulated

thrilled all the time

never a dull moment

ALIVE

FREE

thinking of

spiderwebs woven of gold and light

and

birds that sing Mozart

and the sun

shining down on us all

in blessed glory

interspersed

with tropical breezes

and cool rains

making green the earth

and watering

the emerald springtime

of our lives…

 

THB3

 

Leave a Reply

