HOT AFTERNOON IN A SMOG CLOUD

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

 

My days

up here

in the Hollywood Hills

always

worth remembering.

I stand here

at the peak of the roof

talking to myself

and staring out through the brown haze

of my hometown,

Los Angeles.

I’m wondering

what everybody else is doing

at this moment

while I watch a butterfly

flit by in the dazzling sunshine

and a mockingbird chases a squirrel

amongst leaves and branches.

The City is down there

sprawled out below

burning in the sun

a mirage

unreal

and yet so very real…

What are they all doing

down there

in the heat

as I stand here

thinking of women

the world

cocktails

sandwiches

lives and dreams?

All these things

while the trees grow

malls are built

people

live

work

die

and still

I stand up here

in a smog cloud

listening to Brazilian music

laughing

quietly being insane

in my own unique way

and thinking…thinking

and then,

I stop thinking

for awhile

have another beer

and fall asleep in the sun

with the white noise

of the freeway,

a waterfall

through my dreams…

 

THB3

 

(My above digital artwork is called Phantoms in the Void…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

