SOUNDTRACK TO THE END…

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

 

I walked alone

down an endless sandy beach

under a dazzling blue sky

that went on forever and ever…

To my left were rounded black stones

from pebbles to boulders in size

and scattered amongst them were

coconut palm trees

like sentinels.

To my right

was an ocean

as clear and blue

as a new swimming pool

and every bit as inviting

The beach curved

this way and that…

I could hear John Coltrane’s

“India”

screeching and jamming

in my head

and the sky was

rapidly changing colors

and the sun was

pulsating and expanding

to the rhythms of the bass

in psychedelic tie-dyed colors

that defy description.

I was surrounded

by strange white birds

I’ve never seen before

swooping and diving all about

tweeting a foreign birdsong

never heard-

almost a melody

and it blended with the music

in my head flawlessly

The gentle waves

lapped upon the sandy shore

and a hot wind rustled the palms.

A dark storm brewed

over the inland mountains

ink black clouds

billowing

heavy rains

flooding

A rainbow arched

like a heavenly bridge

across

a verdant green valley

wreathed

in misty waterfalls…

As I walked

by myself

through this acid dream

drenched

in vivid live colors

and birds

and bright intensity,

I watched the sun

set and rise again

in the same spot,

rapidly

like a bouncing ball of fire

constantly changing color

senseless

yet, in sync

a discernible rhythm

surreal

dreamlike

listen

listen closely

train your ears to hear properly

learn to see the patterns in everything…

I arrived in a shaded grove of trees

on a powdery and sandy point

jutting out into the sea.

Suddenly

everything went still

The colors became real again

The music stopped

Only the wind in the trees

waves washing on the sand of a lagoon

silence

and I alone

staring

lost in the infinite blue

blue ocean

blue sky

blue Asia

blue

blue

drowning me

in its cool embrace…

I gaze far away

smiling

quietly amused…

Even out there

alone

myself

at the end,

I was somehow

always okay

A dolphin surfaced

nearby

and looked at me with

a big black intelligent eye

and I’d swear he winked.

He twittered at me

in that lovable language of theirs

and then splashed off

in the direction of

a fiery orange setting sun,

jumping and diving along the way.

I smiled again

and laughed out loud.

The music started again…

“India”

hypnotized

submerged in its sultry flow,

I continued walking

deeper into my dream…

 

THB3

 

(The above digital artwork is called Elysian Fields…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

