THE AGNOSTIC

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

 

All I’ve offered
all I’ve taken
all I’ve left behind
all that’s been given to me…
Yes,
I remember       I remember…

I follow the moon
to a mournful tune,
my shadow runs beside me…
where does this mystery lead us?
I am a man of contradictions.
I look into the burning sun
and still,
I am not blinded.

I play with words
because
they plague me.

Thoughts crawl upon me
like spidery tentacles
in the dark womb of night.
Thoughts explode in a rainbow
of crystal clarity in the sunlight.
Worlds keep turning
thoughts are burning
hearts are yearning…
I embrace all the chaos-
what else can one do?
While I am here,
the madness is mine to behold.
I live for the adventure,
for the element of surprise.
I seek beyond all known boundaries
in life and death.
I walk on the edge of the razor.
I let myself be carried down
the impassive river that is eternity,
everywhere
and
nowhere
at once.

The universe does not care
about our
pathetic mortal dilemmas,
a mere grain of sand in
THE BIG PICTURE.

Forgive us all,
we know not what we do…

Finally,
I am always alone…
there is no one but me
when I pass from this life
into the unknown.

Is there anyone?
Anything?
Is there?

Fade into silence….

Fade to black…………

 

THB3

 

 

Leave a Reply

