CONFESSIONS OF A WINTER-ONLY BLOGGER…

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

 

HIATUS

 

I get lazy in the winter.  Not mentally, hell no!…physically.  Even if it`s not that cold, I just don`t like those three months when the days are short and the nights are long and freezing.  It`s just not for me.  So every year during this season, I seem to find some kind of a project to keep me busy.  This year, it just happened to be this whole website blog thing.  I must admit, I`ve quite enjoyed putting it all out there.  And although I never seem to run short of words, I`m probably not cut out to be a full-on, year-round blogger guy.  I`m just too busy living out there under the sun.  If it weren`t for my nomadic existence, I wouldn`t have been scribbling in my little notebook Street Journals for all these years.  I wouldn`t have written all the poems and wild ramblings that I`ve shared with you.  And if it weren`t for winter, I MAY NEVER HAVE SHARED THEM AT ALL.  You see?  Everything happens for a reason.

 

In any case, it is entirely likely that by the end of this glorious first weekend of Spring, I will have shared a few more poems with you.  Soon thereafter, I will just quietly disappear for a while.  Let`s call it a break.  I must emerge from under my winter rock and go out into the light for new and exciting adventures by skateboard, by train, by bike and by walking.  I have photos to take, stories to write, artworks and novels to create and life to live.  I have just about completed my goal for this winter`s project and I can start my spring with a clean slate and a mind open to MANY fascinating new experiences.  And I can assure you, I WON`T let myself down…

 

And so, when the moment I disappear comes along, you will know that I am outside somewhere…exploring and creating new things while drinking cold beers.  Eventually, I will share some of them with you.  Don`t get me wrong.  I will still be checking in on your writings and creations from time to time as I`ve really been enjoying them.  And I want to thank you for reading along with me this far.  It`s been a thrill-ride for sure…and we will talk again soon…

 

Until then, I`m positively sure that MILLIONS of people around the world will be biting their nails and sitting anxiously in front of their computer screens waiting for another installment of The Street Journals.  Let me tell you, there is no need to worry.  You can`t get rid of me that easily.  There will be more insane ramblings for your reading pleasure, at my convenience, of course.

 

There are a couple sayings from Henry David Thoreau that seem appropriate about now.  He once said, “How vain it is to sit down to write when one has not stood up to live.”  And another classic: “I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself than to be crowded onto a velvet cushion.”  Truer words were never spoken.

 

There will be a few more entries this weekend, as I said.  Then, a puff of smoke, and I`m gone for a while.  Please, my dear creative friends…PLEASE, DON`T lie awake at night worrying about it.  There is plenty already available for you to read.  In fact, it`s a good thing.  MAYBE I SHOULD STOP FOR A WHILE AND LET YOU CATCH UP.  Until next time, I can only say thank you again for reading and keep creating, you crazy dreamers…

 

Much love,

Tom

 

 

Leave a Reply

