THE SEED THAT GROWS INTO A GIANT TREE AND OTHER POEMS…

Standard

By Tom H. Brooks 3

This is STREET JOURNAL 79 and now it is yours…

_____

I AM HERE TO CREATE ALTERNATIVE WORLDS…

_____
 
We must live each moment as if it were our last.
_____
 
“Some want to change the world
Others want to read it…”
 
Octavio Paz
East Slope
_____
 
Come up with the title and the rest shall follow…
_____
 
THE SEED THAT GROWS INTO A GIANT TREE
 
Most of my life
I have wanted to be a writer
a poet
a visionary
 
Then I realized
I already was a writer
That words came to me naturally
from the heart
from the soul
 
I had always had the flow
That nameless thing
that turns thoughts
into symbols and images
That certain something
that performs a strange alchemy
and creates things with no apology
 
A curse and a blessing, it is
 
Something one learns to live with
 
It doesn`t matter if you get paid for it
if you`re able to say, “I`m a writer”
at bars and dinner parties
 
It is only the raw feeling of the words
grating on your spirit like sandpaper
 
The words pouring out of you
like a waterfall
a monsoon
a tsunami washing over the land
with no mercy
 
You cannot stop what you are
You shouldn`t try to stifle this essence of being
NEVER
 
 
INTERLUDE:
notebook page: me listening to me (ends up rotting in a box)
words spoken into empty air: nobody listening to me; forget it
email: friends listening to me
Tumblr/Wordpress etc: everybody listening to me, (not caring?)
Instagram/Flickr: here`s a picture
Facebook: I`m eating a slice of delicious pizza in Greenpoint, Brooklyn
Twitter: talking loud, saying nothin`
 
 
All of you
everywhere
Let the words flow
Let it rain,
so to speak,
Because
when the world has
faded into sad oblivion
When computers are dead
and TVs are darkened,
words and songs will live on
 
Legends will grow
like the seeds of great trees
that tower over us
and shelter us in a cool shade
 
That is why we write
why we have to write
Why some of us
feel it is our duty
our destiny
 
In the face of this calling
everything else seems kind of stupid
and meaningless
 
I`m going to lie down now
in the shade of this tree
 
The sunlight is all around me
and the possibilities of this world
and the next are endless
 
If you are a writer, you know what I speak of 
 
If not, you will learn to know…
 
 
THB3
4/22/14
Tokyo, Japan
_____
 
3 HAIKU ARRANGED AS A POEM
 
Tokyo Disneyland
across the river darkness
a bright gem of light
 
The fire flowers
explode across the night sky
and then disappear
Blossoms of light fade
quiet and still once again
smoke drifts like dream clouds
THB3
4/26/14
Tokyo, Japan
 
(If you didn`t know, HANABI is the word in Japanese for fireworks, which means, literally, fire flower….perfectly appropriate.  I have seen more fireworks here in 4 years then I ever did in America, meaning Los Angeles and New York City….)
_______
 
BETWEEN WORLDS
 
Stuck here
wanting
to be floating here
between 
the living and the dead
between 
east and west
between
here and there
 
Never really belonging to it
anywhere
Not really caring
 
Just lingering on the fringes
watching 
observing
recording
Soaking it all up 
for some obscure purpose
that may, perhaps,
be revealed later,
or maybe not…
 
No matter-
It is where I am supposed to be
here 
in this strange limbo
betwixt different worlds
 
Like a phantom
who sees all
but knows nothing
except
that no one really knows anything
 
It is a vantage point 
to which I have become accustomed
It seems that it was 
waiting for me all along
 
And I have found it
at last
and really, now, 
there is no going back…
 
THB3
4/26/14
Tokyo, Japan
_______
 
THEY CAN`T TELL ME HOW TO LIVE AND THEY`LL NEVER TELL ME HOW TO DIE…
________
 
 
THB3

Tokyo, Japan

May 5th, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “THE SEED THAT GROWS INTO A GIANT TREE AND OTHER POEMS…

  1. athenenoelle

    Okay, I had NO idea what you were going to write about in your latest “Street Journal”, but you must see the similarities in my latest installation: “All’s Fair In Love, Loss and War”. It’s as though no time has passed, and you and I are still little kids with you watching me like a hawk.

  2. I`m glad to keep you and anyone else that reads my stuff guessing. Even I don`t ever know for sure where I`m going next…Check out the new YouTube video, “Brooks Runs the Voodoo Down.” I think you will like it and it is ALL from yesterday…

    • athenenoelle

      You and me both…I never know what’s going to catch me or fascinate me, and it always tends to be something truly unusual. I’ve studied a bit of Voodoo, or Voudou, so I look forward to that. I didn’t study it to practice it, just to understand what they believe.

Leave a Reply

